The Other Half of Augusta Hope (Hardback)
  • The Other Half of Augusta Hope (Hardback)
zoom

The Other Half of Augusta Hope (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 13/06/2019
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

An enchanting yarn perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce and Ruth Hogan, The Other Half of Augusta Hope interweaves the twin journeys of the eponymous heroine and Parfait, a refugee from Burundi trying to make a new life for himself. Tenderly written and uplifting, Joanna Glen’s debut is an absolute gem.

You're not lost. You're just looking.

Augusta Hope has never felt like she fits in.

And she's right - she doesn't. At six, she's memorising the dictionary. At seven, she's correcting her teachers. At eight, she spins the globe and picks her favourite country on the sound of its name: Burundi.

And now that she's an adult, Augusta has no interest in the goings-on of the small town where she lives with her parents and her beloved twin sister, Julia.

When an unspeakable tragedy upends everything in Augusta's life, she's propelled headfirst into the unknown. She's determined to find where she belongs - but what if her true home, and heart, are half a world away?

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008314156
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 550 g
Dimensions: 227 x 159 x 35 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'I found it both a mesmerizingly beautiful portrait of a young woman discovering what home means to her, and a poignant depiction of how our actions can touch other people's lives in ways we could never have anticipated. Augusta and Parfait are wonderful characters; I was willing them on to find the happiness and peace they both deserved' - Sarah Haywood, author of The Cactus

'Joanna Glen weaves a uniquely heartening and hopeful story. A story about pain, the solace of words and our search to belong, to a place, to a person. Welcome to the world of the wonderful Augusta Hope' - Jess Kidd, author Himself and Things in Jars

'Without a doubt one of the best books I have ever read - an extraordinary masterpiece' - Anstey Harris, author of The Truths and Triumphs of Grace Atherton

'The most gutsy, endearing and entertaining meditation on the meaning of human existence that you're ever likely to read' - Deborah Orr

You may also be interested in...

The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Promise
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Sharpe's Assassin
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Never
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Oh William!
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Women of Troy
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
The Party Crasher
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Ariadne
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
Snow Country
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Bewilderment
Added to basket
£18.99   £9.49
Hardback

“Do you believe in fate?...”

We’ll meet two extraordinary characters in this book. Augusta Hope from Hadley Green, and Parfait, from Burundi; their unique stories involving their home and families are beautifully woven together in this... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 59

“Brilliantly written debut”

What a beautiful book. Two different characters, ostracised for very disparate reasons gradually unravel their stories, culminating in this most marvellous tale. It’s always sounds such a cliché, but I can genuinely... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 33

“Everyone has their place in the world, you’ve just got to find it.”

Augusta has never really felt like she fits in, obsessed with words, her favourite country, Burundi and desperate to leave Hadley Green.
Parfait is desperate to make a better life for himself and his family away from... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 31

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.