The Testaments out now
The Other Child (Paperback)
  • The Other Child (Paperback)
zoom

The Other Child (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 04/06/2015
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A gripping psychological thriller from the author of the bestselling debut The Missing One. Perfect for fans of I Let You Go, The Sisters by Claire Douglas, The Book of You and The Ice Twins.

Sometimes a lie seems kinder than the truth . . . but what happens when that lie destroys everything you love? When Tess is sent to photograph Greg, a high profile paediatric heart surgeon, she sees something troubled in his face, and feels instantly drawn to him. Their relationship quickly deepens, but then Tess, single mother to nine-year-old Joe, falls pregnant, and Greg is offered the job of a lifetime back in his hometown of Boston. Before she knows it, Tess is married, and relocating to the States. But life in an affluent American suburb proves anything but straightforward.

Unsettling things keep happening in the large rented house, Joe is distressed, the next-door neighbours are in crisis, and Tess is sure that someone is watching her. Greg's work is all-consuming and, as the baby's birth looms, he grows more and more unreachable. Something is very wrong, Tess knows it, and then she makes a jaw-dropping discovery . . .

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781782069874
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 274 g
Dimensions: 197 x 132 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Taut, tense, and beautifully written. I held my breath between chapters and didn't sleep until I reached the end * Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go *
An elegantly written page-turner which pulled me in from the start and held its grip until the final page * Renee Knight, author of bestselling psychological thriller Disclaimer *
I absolutely loved this novel. The Other Child is seriously gripping, seriously scary and seriously brilliant * Clare Kendal, author of The Book of You *
Truly unnerving. Atkins perfectly captures the vulnerability that comes with moving overseas, away from friends and support networks, and uses it expertly in this compelling novel. Not just one-more-page gripping but perceptive and beautifully written * Lucie Whitehouse, author of Before We Met *
The last book I read in one sitting like this was Louise Doughty's Apple Tree Yard. Like Louise, Lucy Atkins is brilliant at ramping up the tension so that there's not a chance of relief until the end * Polly Samson, author of The Kindness *
Addictive . . . a pace so relentless that you'll want to inhale this novel in one uninterrupted sitting * The Sunday Times *
Atmospheric and packed with suspense, kept me on edge from start to finish * Woman & Home Magazine *

You may also be interested in...

Transcription
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Wych Elm
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Middle England
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Paris Echo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Keeper
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Lies Lies Lies
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Giver of Stars
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Man Who Didn't Call
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Spark of Light
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Bookread2day

“packed with suspense”

Review by ireadnovels.wordpress.com Tess a photographer is a single mother to her nine-year-old son Joe, and expecting a baby with her loving husband Greg, who is a high-profile pediatric heart surgeon. While Greg... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 37

“Great Thriller!”

It all starts with a little lie many years ago......
Great thriller full of tension. Who to trust? Is everyone who they say they are?
A very fast read - loved it!

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

“good family drama”

I am sorry to say this book was good but not brilliant. I enjoyed reading it but somehow didn't really feel a deep connection to the characters.
Would HIGHLY recommend anyone to read her other novel, The... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 25

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.