The Orphan of Ironbridge (Paperback)
  • The Orphan of Ironbridge (Paperback)
zoom

The Orphan of Ironbridge (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 15/04/2021
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A dramatic and heartwarming Victorian saga, perfect for fans of Maggie Hope and Anne Bennett. Shropshire, 1875. Hettie Jones has grown up in Ironbridge. She has never known her father and, since her mother's death, has been brought up by the Malone family, who treat her as one of their own. She works as a pit girl at the local coal mine, alongside her childhood playfellow, Evan - although lately, their friendship seems to be blossoming into something more. But when Queenie King takes a fancy to her, Hettie's life is transformed. Trained first as a lady's maid, and then hurtled into a world of luxury and gentility, she finds her new position difficult to reconcile with her past life. And with Queenie's daughter-in-law scheming against her, Hettie's situation becomes dire. Can Hettie really use her new position for good, and will she find a way to bridge the divide between rich and poor? 'A compelling blend of real history, rich period detail, and a gritty, authentic story brimming with love, loss, intrigue, hope, and bitter revenge, The Orphan of Ironbridge delivers a dramatic final chapter to this exciting trilogy.' Lancashire Evening Post Praise for The Daughters of Ironbridge: 'A Journey. Compelling. Addictive.' Val Wood 'Evocative, dramatic and hugely compelling . . . The Daughters of Ironbridge has all the hallmarks of a classic saga. I loved it' Miranda Dickinson 'Feisty female characters, an atmospheric setting and a spell-binding storyline make this a phenomenal read' Cathy Bramley 'The Daughters of Ironbridge has that compulsive, page-turning quality, irresistible characters the reader gets hugely invested in, and Walton has created a brilliantly alive, vivid and breathing world in Ironbridge' Louisa Treger 'Such great characters who will stay with me for a long time' Beth Miller 'The attention to period detail and beautiful writing drew me right in and kept me reading' Lynne Francis 'Vivid, page-turning drama' Pippa Beecheno 'A powerful sense of place and period, compelling characters and a pacy plot had me racing to the end' Gill Paul 'A story that is vivid, twisting and pacy, with characters that absolutely leap off the page' Iona Grey 'Beautiful and poignant. I'll definitely be reading The Secrets of Ironbridge' Tania Crosse

Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre
ISBN: 9781838773144
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 326 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
An addictive, heart-warming book, with an unputdownable plot. I didn't want it to end * Dinah Jefferies, on The Secrets of Ironbridge *
A Journey. Compelling. Addictive * Val Wood, on The Daughters of Ironbridge *
Feisty female characters, an atmospheric setting and a spell-binding storyline make this a phenomenal read * Cathy Bramley on The Daughters of Ironbridge *
Evocative, dramatic and hugely compelling . . . The Daughters of Ironbridge has all the hallmarks of a classic saga. I loved it * Miranda Dickinson, on The Daughters of Ironbridge *
A compelling blend of real history, rich period detail, and a gritty, authentic story brimming with love, loss, intrigue, hope, and bitter revenge. * Lancashire Evening Post *

You may also be interested in...

Hothouse Flower
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Bella Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Cities of the Plain
Added to basket
The Girl on the Cliff
Added to basket
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dilly's Sacrifice
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Sagas of the Icelanders
Added to basket
A Broken Family
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Stranger From The Sea
Added to basket
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Valley of Horses
Added to basket
Cinderella Sister
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
A Mother's Struggle
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
A Time to Remember
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Woman of Substance
Added to basket
The Light Behind The Window
Added to basket

“Addictive”

Hettie is one of those characters readers will take to immediately. Brought up by Anny and Peter and their growing family. Evan their son and Hettie’s love for each other changes as they grow up. Her long lost father... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Excellent conclusion to the Ironbridge Trilogy”

I finished the third book in the Ironbridge trilogy this morning and I feel sorry to leave the families of Ironbridge and the surrounding area. This has been such a satisfying and engrossing tale, stretching in time... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.