The Mersey Orphan (Paperback)
  • The Mersey Orphan (Paperback)
zoom

The Mersey Orphan (Paperback)

(author)
£12.99
Paperback 348 Pages / Published: 05/09/2019
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A thoroughly enjoyable, powerful novel' Lyn Andrews

'An enchanting, warm and deeply touching story' Cathy Sharp

Winter, Liverpool 1947.

Evie Kilgaren is a fighter. Abandoned by her mother and with her father long gone, she is left to raise her siblings in dockside Liverpool, as they battle against the coldest winter on record. But she is determined to make a life for herself and create a happy home for what's left of her family.

Desperate for work, Evie takes a job at the Tram Tavern under the kindly watch of pub landlady, and pillar of the community, Connie Sharp. But Connie has problems of her own when her quiet life of spinsterhood is upturned with the arrival of a mysterious undercover detective from out of town.

When melting ice reveals a body in the canal, things take a turn for the worst for the residents of Reckoner's Row. Who could be responsible for such a brutal attack? And can Evie keep her family safe before they strike again?

A gritty, historical family drama full of laughter and tears from the author of Annie Groves' bestsellers including Child of the Mersey and Christmas on the Mersey. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Katie Flynn and Dilly Court.

'I found The Orphan Daughter a thoroughly enjoyable, powerful novel set against the background of a war-battered city still struggling against austerity, rationing, the black market and poverty. A fast paced story-line and believable characters added to the authenticity of what I am sure will be the beginning of a series of successful books for Sheila Riley.' Lyn Andrews

'An enchanting, warm and deeply touching story about a brave young girl fighting against injustice. Loved it and look forward to her next book.' Cathy Sharp, author of the best-selling Orphans of Halfpenny Street.

What readers are saying about The Mersey Orphan:
'Oh what a wonderful story this is. I enjoyed every bit of Evies story suffering lots of traumas and struggles in her life. This book will definitely keep you reading on chapter after chapter I really enjoyed it, and looking forward to more from this author. A beautiful family saga.'

'Excellent story with characters that pull at your heartstrings.'

'Powerful, emotional and intense, The Orphan Daughter has at its heart a fantastic heroine readers will root for and a cast of brilliantly nuanced characters it is impossible not to care about. Written straight from the heart, The Orphan Daughter is a must-read for saga fans everywhere!'

'A really heart warming read for the winter months. Lovely characters, richly drawn and well rounded.'

'From the first page I was hooked. I've loved reading this fabulous story.'

Publisher: Boldwood Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781838893200
Number of pages: 348
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm

You may also be interested in...

Eliza's Child
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Marking Time
Added to basket
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Hothouse Flower
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Loving Cup
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Sagas of the Icelanders
Added to basket
Dilly's Lass
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Mother's Struggle
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Light Behind The Window
Added to basket
A Life's Music
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Jeremy Poldark
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Warleggan
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Angry Tide
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dilly's Sacrifice
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dilly's Hope
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Girl on the Cliff
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.