The Original Ginny Moon (Paperback)
  • The Original Ginny Moon (Paperback)
zoom

The Original Ginny Moon (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 19/04/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

`Brilliant' Graeme Simsion, author of The Rosie Project

Ginny sees the world differently. Now you will too.

`Funny and wildly moving' Daily Mail

My name is Ginny Moon.

Ginny is fourteen years old and has autism. She likes the colour red, making lists and knowing exactly what time it is. She doesn't like hugs, surprises or people telling lies.

After years in foster care, she has finally found her forever family. She has a new house, new parents and even a new name. But Ginny also has a Big Secret Plan of Escape.

Every day she wakes up at nine o'clock and eats nine grapes for breakfast. Because when she was nine years old something terrible happened. Something only Ginny knows. And she's the only one who can put it right...

The Original Ginny Moon is a poignant story of love and family, inspired by the author's own experiences. Perfect for fans of A Boy Made of Blocks and Shtum.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9781848456624
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm
Edition: edition


MEDIA REVIEWS

`Brilliant' GRAEME SIMSION, author of THE ROSIE PROJECT

`I've never read a novel that gets inside an autistic child's head like this one. It's funny and wildly moving but never patronising or prurient.' DAILY MAIL

`Complex, clever, original, charming and moving. I loved it.' SARAH MORGAN, bestselling author of MIRACLE ON 5TH AVENUE

`A moving and thought-provoking debut.' EOWYN IVEY, Pulitzer Prize Finalist

`A triumphant achievement.' LIBRARY JOURNAL, starred review

`Compassionate, evocative and heartwarming.' INSTYLE, UK

`A unique coming-of-age tale.' PUBLISHERS WEEKLY, starred review

`A heartwarming and unforgettable page-turner.' BOOKLIST, starred review

`Heartwarming and heartbreaking.' KIRKUS REVIEW
`A sparkling debut.' MARGOT LIVESEY, author the THE FLIGHT OF GEMMA HARDY

Honest and raw. Ludwig gives voice to the voiceless.' ALEXI ZENTNER, author of THE LOBSTER KINGS

You may also be interested in...

Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Milkman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Killing Commendatore
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Crazy Rich Asians
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Anatomy of a Scandal
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Uncommon Type
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
The Sixteen Trees of the Somme
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
I Invited Her In
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Discovery of Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback

Reviews

View all

“Superb”

Ginny Moon is now living at her forever home with her forever parents after being taken away from her abusive mother at the age of 9. Ginny tries everything in her power to get in touch with her birth mother Gloria,... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
9th March 2017
Helpful? Upvote 97

“Powerful and extraordinary”

Ginny Moon is a character who well and truly took root in my heart, her story will stay with me for a very long time. Her story is a story of finding your place in the world, finding where you belong and putting the... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
20th May 2017
Helpful? Upvote 39
Helen Corton

“My best book of the year so far”

Fourteen year old Ginny Moon has had a difficult start to life. A victim of neglectful abuse at home, she’s been fostered out and adopted by a new family. She also has autism and doesn’t fully understand what she’s... More

Hardback edition
12th April 2017
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.