The Ops Room Girls: An uplifting and romantic WW2 saga - The Women's Auxiliary Air Force 1 (Paperback)
  • The Ops Room Girls: An uplifting and romantic WW2 saga - The Women's Auxiliary Air Force 1 (Paperback)
zoom

The Ops Room Girls: An uplifting and romantic WW2 saga - The Women's Auxiliary Air Force 1 (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 16/07/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Shortlisted for the RNA Romantic Saga of the Year AwardWhen Evie's dreams come crashing down, she's determined to still make something of herself in these trying times...

It is 1939 and working class Evie Bishop has received a scholarship to study mathematics at Oxford when tragedy turns her life upside down. Evie must seek a new future for herself and, inspired to contribute to the war effort, joins the Women's Auxiliary Air Force as an Ops Room plotter.

Posted to a fighter station on the Sussex Coast, Evie befriends two other WAAFs - shy, awkward May and flirty, glamorous Jess. Faced with earning the approval of strict officers and finding their way in a male dominated world, the three girls band together to overcome challenges, navigate new romances and keep their pilots safe in the skies.

But the German bombers seem to know more than they should about the base's operations, and soon Evie, May and Jess are caught up in a world more dangerous than they ever imagined...

This heartwarming, dramatic World War II saga is perfect for fans of Daisy Styles, Kate Thompson and Rosie Clarke.

Praise for The Ops Room Girls

'A fabulous tale of courage, comradeship and romance.' Glynis Peters, author of The Secret Orphan

'A lovely book. Vicki Beeby is a saga author to watch.' Margaret Dickinson, Sunday Times Top Ten bestselling author

'Full of excitement, energy and romance, this story kept me turning the pages eagerly.' Lesley Eames, author of The Brighton Guest House Girls

'An exceptional historical saga about young women forging new paths in an uncertain world at war... rich with historical detail, and a must read for historical fiction fans.' Andie Newton, author of The Girl I Left Behind

'An utter joy to read, from the first page to the last. I would not hesitate to recommend this book to anyone with a liking for strong characters, a taste for danger, and a deeply romantic soul.' Terri Nixon, author of Penhaligon's Gift

'Entertaining from beginning to end. I can't recommend it highly enough.' Gemma Jackson, bestselling author of the Ivy Rose series

Publisher: Canelo
ISBN: 9781800320918
Number of pages: 368
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Girl on the Cliff
Added to basket
The Sagas of the Icelanders
Added to basket
A Mother's Struggle
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Lady's Maid
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Casting Off
Added to basket
The Loving Cup
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Stranger From The Sea
Added to basket
A Life's Music
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Valley of Horses
Added to basket
Njal's Saga
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Destiny's Path
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Winds of War
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Bella Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Bad Apple
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Orphan's Dream
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

“Believable characters and an excellent sense of period that brings WW2 to life,”

This engaging story follows the lives of three young women during WW2. All are part of the Women's Auxillary Airforce (WAFF). Evie, Jess and May have different backgrounds and personalities, but they gravitate... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“A very good read”

I really enjoyed this book. I like reading about what happened back in the day. This book is set in 1939 and is set around the Women's Auxiliary Air Force, which I found really interesting. Evie, May and Jess... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A satisfying read”

Evie Bishop is a working class girl in Oxford in 1939. She has just won a scholarship to read Maths at the University. Before she can take up the offer her father dies. Her mother tells her she could get herself a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.