The Officer's Daughter (Paperback)
  • The Officer's Daughter (Paperback)

The Officer's Daughter (Paperback)

Paperback Published: 01/02/2008
  • Can be ordered from our supplier

Delivered within 5 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

This is an epic wartime romance which sees a headstrong young woman face hardship, danger and dilemmas as the forces of history sweep her across continents, while two men compete to claim her heart.It is suitable for fans of "Cold Mountain" or Captain Corelli's "Mandolin", Sebastian Faulks, Pam Jenoff, and, Anthony Capella.Sixteen-year-old Marta has always longed to follow her father and lead armies into battle. Instead she finds herself leading her fellow girl-guides on a camping trip on the border between Poland and Germany on the very day in September 1939 that the Nazis invade. Immediately the girls are spirited across their Polish motherland to take refuge in a remote nunnery, but their safety is soon under threat...So begins a perilous adventure across thousands of miles - from the logging camps of frozen Siberia to the British field hospitals of Persia - during which Marta is forced to draw on reserves of courage she didn't think she had and make choices she never imagined she'd face, as her heart is torn between a fiery young Polish patriot and a charismatic Iranian doctor.

Publisher: Granta Books
ISBN: 9781846270680

You may also be interested in...

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?

Review us on Trustpilot