The Odin Mission - Jack Tanner (Paperback)
  • The Odin Mission - Jack Tanner (Paperback)
zoom

The Odin Mission - Jack Tanner (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£10.99
Paperback 464 Pages / Published: 18/06/2009
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

From the pen of bestselling author and historian comes this action-packed page-turner of a wartime thriller. Jam-packed with sharp dialogue, dynamic and authentic scenes and unforgettable characterisation, this is perfect for fans of Robert Harris, Bernard Cornwell and Ken Follett.

'Tanner is a chiselled protagonist straight out of the pages of the old Commando comics...Destined to be a series that will run and run.' -- Mail On Sunday

Sharpe for the Blitz years...The Odin Mission is a meaty, all-action yarn' - Sunday Telegraph
'A breezy, action packed, page turning, ripper of a yarn' -- ***** Reader review
'I just couldn't put it down' -- ***** Reader review
'A cracking tale' -- ***** Reader review
'Top class' -- ***** Reader review
***********************************************************************************
April 1940. The Nazi Blitzkrieg delivers a hammer blow to defenceless Norway.

The few remaining British troops retreat in the fact of a remorseless German advance. For Sergeant Jack Tanner and his stranded patrol, it is a desperate rearguard action.

With the odds stacked against them and the temperature dropping fast, they are not only fighting for their lives, but also to protect a mysterious Norwegian professor in whose hands lies the outcome of the war.

To survive, Tanner must outfox and outfight the pursuing Nazis who are desperate for the secrets the Norwegian holds. They will stop at nothing to secure them. . .

Jack Tanner's adventures continue in Darkest Hour.

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9780552157360
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 315 g
Dimensions: 198 x 127 x 29 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Plenty of action... sharp dialogue and swift characterisation. The whole is intelligently structured so that this is absorbing and thoughtful as well as tense and exciting * Daily Telegraph *
Old-fashioned, testosterone-fuelled escapism and Tanner is a chiselled protagonist straight out of the pages of the old Commando comics... Destined to be a series that will run and run * Mail on Sunday *
Sharpe for the Blitz years... The Odin Mission is a meaty, all-action yarn * Sunday Telegraph *
A good old-fashioned action hero makes his appearance in this page-turning thriller, the first of a planned series of Second World War novels featuring Sergeant Jack Tanner... James Holland, a respected military historian, has produced a story authentic in every detail * Telegraph *

You may also be interested in...

Two Brothers
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Thin Red Line
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Catch-22
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
From Here to Eternity
Added to basket
Kaputt
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Monte Cassino
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Moments of Reprieve
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Purple Plain
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
If Not Now, When?
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
A Presumption of Death
Added to basket
The Great Fire
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
How Sleep the Brave
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Caught
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Das Boot
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Tin Drum
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Levant Trilogy
Added to basket

“Great Story”

Great book, characters built up well story great can't wait for the second one to come out on paper back.
I usually read historical fiction set in ancient rome but was in need of a read and saw this, very glad I... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

“Abysmal”

Take one of those old Warlord/Commando comics, throw in some nods to classic war movies of the Where Eagles Dare era and what do you get?

Well, what you should get is a rip roaring boys own adventure full of thrills... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 24

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.