The Norfolk Mystery - County Guides (Paperback)
  • The Norfolk Mystery - County Guides (Paperback)

The Norfolk Mystery - County Guides (Paperback)

12 Reviews Write your review
£8.99
Paperback Published: 19/06/2014
  • 10+ in stock

We can send it to you within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Click & Collect From your local shop
Love Miss Marple? Adore Holmes and Watson? Professor Morley's guide to Norfolk is a story of bygone England; quaint villages, eccentric locals - and murder! It is 1937 and disillusioned Spanish Civil War veteran Stephen Sefton is stony broke. So when he sees a mysterious advertisement for a job where 'intelligence is essential', he applies. Thus begins Sefton's association with Professor Swanton Morley, an omnivorous intellect. Morley's latest project is a history of traditional England, with a guide to every county. They start in Norfolk, but when the vicar of Blakeney is found hanging from his church's bellrope, Morley and Sefton find themselves drawn into a rather more fiendish plot. Did the Reverend really take his own life, or was it - murder? Beginning a thrilling new detective series, 'The Norfolk Mystery' is the first of The County Guides. A must-read for fans of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Agatha Christie, every county is a crime scene and no-one is above suspicion!

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007360482

You may also be interested in...

“A promising new series”

The introductory book to what looks as if it could be a compelling cosy crime series. Celebrating the style of Sayers and Christie, but so much clearer and simpler. A
village church setting with lots of lovely... More

Paperback edition
14th July 2014
Helpful? Upvote 5

“3.5 - 4 Stars for this entertaining book”

I found this book entertaining with excellent dialogue that reads so vividly, it is easy to imagine it as a television or radio script.

Although very witty I will admit that at first I found it difficult to warm to... More

Hardback edition
17th July 2013
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Good starter to series”

Oh good, I thought, a 1930's pastiche, however, it started out in the wrong period. The beginning appeared to be more Edwardian, giving a Holmes/Watson feel to Sefton, the narrator and his employer, Swanton... More

Paperback edition
9th July 2014
Helpful? Upvote 3

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?


Review us on Trustpilot