The Norfolk Mystery - The County Guides (Paperback)
  • The Norfolk Mystery - The County Guides (Paperback)
zoom

The Norfolk Mystery - The County Guides (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 19/06/2014
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Love Miss Marple? Adore Holmes and Watson? Professor Morley's guide to Norfolk is a story of bygone England; quaint villages, eccentric locals - and murder!

It is 1937 and disillusioned Spanish Civil War veteran Stephen Sefton is stony broke. So when he sees a mysterious advertisement for a job where `intelligence is essential', he applies.

Thus begins Sefton's association with Professor Swanton Morley, an omnivorous intellect. Morley's latest project is a history of traditional England, with a guide to every county.

They start in Norfolk, but when the vicar of Blakeney is found hanging from his church's bellrope, Morley and Sefton find themselves drawn into a rather more fiendish plot. Did the Reverend really take his own life, or was it - murder?

Beginning a thrilling new detective series, `The Norfolk Mystery' is the first of The County Guides. A must-read for fans of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Agatha Christie, every county is a crime scene and no-one is above suspicion!

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007360482
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 230 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for `The Norfolk Mystery':

`A delightful, idiosyncratic mystery set in the Thirties ... There is a touch of Sherlock Holmes and a dash of Lord Peter Wimsey, but the total is put together with a charm that is teasingly precious ... Beautifully crafted by Sansom, Professor Morely promises to become a little gem of English crime writing; sample him now' Daily Mail

`Sansom is both celebrating and sending up the golden age of detective novels when, in the 1930s, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie were the queens of crime ... A brilliant first outing that leaves you looking forward to the next maniacal mystery tour' Mark Sanderson, Evening Standard

You may also be interested in...

Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Relentless Tide
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Wild Fire
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye
Added to basket
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
NYPD Red 5
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Chalk Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Sleeping in the Ground
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Dark Angel
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Darkest Day
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Girl Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Stranger in the House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“3.5 - 4 Stars for this entertaining book”

I found this book entertaining with excellent dialogue that reads so vividly, it is easy to imagine it as a television or radio script.

Although very witty I will admit that at first I found it difficult to warm to... More

Hardback edition
17th July 2013
Helpful? Upvote 38

“A promising new series”

The introductory book to what looks as if it could be a compelling cosy crime series. Celebrating the style of Sayers and Christie, but so much clearer and simpler. A
village church setting with lots of lovely... More

Paperback edition
14th July 2014
Helpful? Upvote 20

“You should read this book!”

I'm glad to see this is one of a series, as I loved the quirky characters so much, I want to know more of them. There's a lot of factual chatter, plus some more meaningful historical references, which is... More

Paperback edition
29th June 2014
Helpful? Upvote 14

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.