The Norfolk Mystery (Paperback)
  • The Norfolk Mystery (Paperback)
zoom

The Norfolk Mystery (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 19/06/2014
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Love Miss Marple? Adore Holmes and Watson? Professor Morley's guide to Norfolk is a story of bygone England; quaint villages, eccentric locals - and murder!

It is 1937 and disillusioned Spanish Civil War veteran Stephen Sefton is stony broke. So when he sees a mysterious advertisement for a job where 'intelligence is essential', he applies.

Thus begins Sefton's association with Professor Swanton Morley, an omnivorous intellect. Morley's latest project is a history of traditional England, with a guide to every county.

They start in Norfolk, but when the vicar of Blakeney is found hanging from his church's bellrope, Morley and Sefton find themselves drawn into a rather more fiendish plot. Did the Reverend really take his own life, or was it - murder?

Beginning a thrilling new detective series, 'The Norfolk Mystery' is the first of The County Guides. A must-read for fans of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle and Agatha Christie, every county is a crime scene and no-one is above suspicion!

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007360482
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 230 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for 'The Norfolk Mystery':

'A delightful, idiosyncratic mystery set in the Thirties ... There is a touch of Sherlock Holmes and a dash of Lord Peter Wimsey, but the total is put together with a charm that is teasingly precious ... Beautifully crafted by Sansom, Professor Morely promises to become a little gem of English crime writing; sample him now' Daily Mail

'Sansom is both celebrating and sending up the golden age of detective novels when, in the 1930s, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie were the queens of crime ... A brilliant first outing that leaves you looking forward to the next maniacal mystery tour' Mark Sanderson, Evening Standard

You may also be interested in...

Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Heron's Cry
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Anxious People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Win
Added to basket
Win
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
The Coffinmaker's Garden
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Turn a Blind Eye
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“3.5 - 4 Stars for this entertaining book”

I found this book entertaining with excellent dialogue that reads so vividly, it is easy to imagine it as a television or radio script.

Although very witty I will admit that at first I found it difficult to warm to... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 59

“You should read this book!”

I'm glad to see this is one of a series, as I loved the quirky characters so much, I want to know more of them. There's a lot of factual chatter, plus some more meaningful historical references, which is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 41

“A promising new series”

The introductory book to what looks as if it could be a compelling cosy crime series. Celebrating the style of Sayers and Christie, but so much clearer and simpler. A
village church setting with lots of lovely... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 40

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.