The Night Visitor: the gripping thriller from the author of Magpie Lane (Paperback)
  • The Night Visitor: the gripping thriller from the author of Magpie Lane (Paperback)
zoom

The Night Visitor: the gripping thriller from the author of Magpie Lane (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 03/05/2018
  • In stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'One of the most vivid, memorable and menacing characters I've ever read' C.L. Taylor, author of The Fear

She knows your secret . . . and she'll make you pay

As high-flying TV presenter and historian Olivia Sweetman stands before an adoring crowd at the launch of her new bestseller she can barely pretend to smile. Her life has spiralled into lies and if the truth comes out she'll lose everything.

Only one person knows what Olivia has done. Vivian Tester is the socially awkward housekeeper of a Sussex manor who has become Olivia's unofficial research assistant. But Vivian has secrets too, and as the relationship between the women grows more and more tangled, a bizarre act of violence changes everything . . .

Perfect for fans of Little Fires Everywhere and He Said She Said.


PRAISE FOR THE NIGHT VISITOR:

'WONDERFUL' - Clare Mackintosh, author of Let Me Lie
'INSIDIOUS' - Guardian
'BRILLIANT' - Fiona Barton, author of The Child
'PROPULSIVE' - Metro
'INGENIOUS' - Sabine Durrant, author of Lie With Me
'SINISTER' - Red
'MENACING' - C.L. Taylor, author of The Fear
'FANTASTIC' - Sunday Mirror
'ELEGANT' - Joanna Cannon, author of Three Things about Elsie
'GRIPPING' - The Literary Review
'UNRELENTING' - Mick Herron, author of Spook Street
'ENTHRALLING' - Heat
'FASCINATING' - Linda Green, author of When My Eyes Were Closed
'INTELLIGENT' - Good Housekeeping

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781784293246
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The rich characterisation makes for an alarmingly plausible riches-to-rags tale * Sunday Times *
This atmospheric, propulsive novel creeps up on you like footsteps in the dead of night... a tingling layer of gothic suspense * Metro *
Fabulously dark * Woman & Home *
A complex, creepy and insidious novel * The Guardian *
Sinister, utterly compulsive...will keep your pulse racing until its dramatic denouement * Red Magazine *
An absolute cracker...Fantastic! * Sunday Mirror *
Enjoyably creepy * Sunday Express *
Utterly gripping * The Literary Review *
Brilliantly believable...you will relish every page * The People *
This is an enthralling, creepy and endlessly twisty story about secrets, lies and the destructive power of ambition. We galloped to the climax. Five stars * Heat *
I read this book in one sitting. A tense psychological thriller which explores authenticity, fame, and lies and the depths you might sink to in order to protect your reputation. A page-turner that keeps you gripped from the very first page * Psychologies *
Bone-chillingly good * Boundless Magazine *
Such a sophisticated, layered read, I absolutely revelled in it. A wonderful, wonderful book. The plotting is superb but the real triumph is the characterisation. The moment I finished, I wanted to read it all over again * Clare Mackintosh, author of I Let You Go *
Horribly, horribly compulsive. Brilliant * Fiona Barton, author of The Widow *
Elegant, clever, beautifully written. Lucy Atkins is, quite frankly, a genius * Joanna Cannon, author of The Trouble with Goats and Sheep *
Thrillingly creepy and darkly funny, The Night Visitor set me racing through the chapters with its brilliant plotting and characters that crackle off the page. A cannot tear yourself away novel * Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat *
It's wonderfully creepy, in that clever way that is tied in with character, as much as plot and setting. And the beetle metaphor is just ingenious * Sabine Durrant, author of Lie With Me *
It put me in mind of Misery, and Rebecca. Splendidly tense, creepy and enjoyable * Sarah Hilary, author of Quieter Than Killing *
One of the most vivid, memorable and menacing characters I've ever read...Dark, tense and menacing, I was quickly drawn into the story and couldn't put it down. Readers who enjoyed Notes on a Scandal by Zoe Heller will adore it * CL Taylor, author of The Lie *
Characters so real you could reach out and touch them. Absorbing, exciting and full of rich detail - snap this one up! * Lucie Whitehouse, author of Keep You Close *
Wonderfully dark and intriguing. In Vivian, Atkins has created a fascinating and sinister character who will stay with you long after you've finished the book. Highly recommended * Linda Green, author of While My Eyes Were Closed *
The tension is immediate and unrelenting; the sense of unease palpable. Deceptive on every level, this is a gripping, Rendellesque read * Mick Herron, author of Spook Street *
Beautifully crafted, unsettling and utterly unputdownable, The Night Visitor explores what happens when we take someone else's story and make it our own * Nuala Ellwood, author of My Sister's Bones *
Crackles with undercurrents of mistrust and menace. Tense, atmospheric and beautifully written, this unnerving tale of ambition and revenge held me captive until the last page. Brilliant * Amanda Jennings, author of In Her Wake *
Clever, multilayered and morally murky. I read it with a delicious sense of dread * Tammy Cohen, author of When She Was Bad *
Elegantly written with a rollercoaster of twists and turns, The Night Visitor has creepy echoes of Zoe Heller's Notes on a Scandal. I read it in two sittings * Elizabeth Heathcote, author of Undertow *
The Night Visitor is an addictive and intricately plotted page-turner. I devoured it and I loved it * Hannah Beckermann, author and journalist *
Thrilling...the sort of book you think about even when not reading, and stay up far later than you should to finish. Atkins is a master of suspense; she creates characters that you feel like you've met, and situations you never want to be in. Completely wonderful * Dr Suzannah Lipscomb, historian, author and TV presenter *
It's clever, complex and compelling and grips right up to that completely unexpected twist. A chilling psychological thriller with beetles! * Fanny Blake, author of House of Dreams *
A fascinating, brilliant, creepy, intelligent novel * Good Housekeeping *

You may also be interested in...

The Hunting Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Serpentine
Added to basket
£7.99
Hardback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Firewatching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Westwind
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
A Silent Death
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Roots of Evil
Added to basket
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Daylight
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How the Dead Speak
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
TripFiction

“Don't expect to eat or sleep while reading this novel (set in LONDON, rural FRANCE and rural ENGLAND_”

Professor Olivia Sweetman seemingly has it all – a successful career as a TV presenter and well-respected historian, a supportive husband, David, and three happy, well-balanced children. On top of that, she has just... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 38

“How Far Would You Go To Achieve Your Goal ?”

Professor Olivia Sweetman, Historian and TV celebrity has just written a new book.
This novel starts at the book launch at the Hunterian Museum, Royal College of Surgeons, London. Olivia should be very happy, but she... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

“I didn't like it”

I am learning to be sceptical of book reviews written by other authors. I'd like to know how these are obtained and question the integrity of a review which originates from another writer from the same... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.