The New York Trilogy: Faber Modern Classics (Paperback)
  • The New York Trilogy: Faber Modern Classics (Paperback)
zoom

The New York Trilogy: Faber Modern Classics (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 04/06/2015
  • 5+ in stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
The New York Trilogy is perhaps the most astonishing work by one of America's most consistently astonishing writers. The Trilogy is three cleverly interconnected novels that exploit the elements of standard detective fiction and achieve a new genre that is all the more gripping for its starkness. It is a riveting work of detective fiction worthy of Raymond Chandler, and at the same time a profound and unsettling existentialist enquiry in the tradition of Kafka or Borges. In each story the search for clues leads to remarkable coincidences in the universe as the simple act of trailing a man ultimately becomes a startling investigation of what it means to be human. The New York Trilogy is the modern novel at its finest: a truly bold and arresting work of fiction with something to transfix and astound every reader. 'Marks a new departure for the American novel.' Observer 'A shatteringly clever piece of work . . . Utterly gripping, written with an acid sharpness that leaves an indelible dent in the back of the mind.' Sunday Telegraph 'The New York Trilogy established him as the only author one could compare to Samuel Beckett.' Guardian

Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571322800
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 197 x 128 x 23 mm
Edition: Main - Faber Modern Classics

You may also be interested in...

Starve Acre
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Pine
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Those Who Are Loved
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Ready Player Two
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Firewatching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“The New York Trilogy”

First and foremost this is not a trilogy in the conventional sense. It is not one story told across three episodes but rather three separate stories which follow the same loose theme. This basic similarity, along with... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 61

“The New York Trilogy”

This is what I call fiction at its finest, plenty of substance and class within, aided by Auster's intelligence and beauty as a writer. I like a book with underlying themes and literary references, so this... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 36

“Totally unconventional...Genius!”

NEW YORK TRILOGYPaul Auster is not your typical American author. His books examine identity, personal histories, mystery, coincidence and language, and this is particularly evident in this collection, where New York... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.