Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
The New York Trilogy: Faber Modern Classics (Paperback)
  • The New York Trilogy: Faber Modern Classics (Paperback)
zoom

The New York Trilogy: Faber Modern Classics (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 320 Pages / Published: 04/06/2015
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
The New York Trilogy is perhaps the most astonishing work by one of America's most consistently astonishing writers. The Trilogy is three cleverly interconnected novels that exploit the elements of standard detective fiction and achieve a new genre that is all the more gripping for its starkness. It is a riveting work of detective fiction worthy of Raymond Chandler, and at the same time a profound and unsettling existentialist enquiry in the tradition of Kafka or Borges. In each story the search for clues leads to remarkable coincidences in the universe as the simple act of trailing a man ultimately becomes a startling investigation of what it means to be human. The New York Trilogy is the modern novel at its finest: a truly bold and arresting work of fiction with something to transfix and astound every reader. 'Marks a new departure for the American novel.' Observer 'A shatteringly clever piece of work . . . Utterly gripping, written with an acid sharpness that leaves an indelible dent in the back of the mind.' Sunday Telegraph 'The New York Trilogy established him as the only author one could compare to Samuel Beckett.' Guardian

Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571322800
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 309 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm
Edition: Main - Faber Modern Classics

You may also be interested in...

The Sixteen Trees of the Somme
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
An Unsuitable Match
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Milkman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Moon Sister
Added to basket
£18.99   £12.99
Hardback
Middle England
Added to basket
£16.99   £12.99
Hardback
If Cats Disappeared From The World
Added to basket
Uncommon Type
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Death of the Fronsac: A Novel
Added to basket
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“The New York Trilogy”

First and foremost this is not a trilogy in the conventional sense. It is not one story told across three episodes but rather three separate stories which follow the same loose theme. This basic similarity, along with... More

Paperback edition
25th September 2007
Helpful? Upvote 58

“The New York Trilogy”

This is what I call fiction at its finest, plenty of substance and class within, aided by Auster's intelligence and beauty as a writer. I like a book with underlying themes and literary references, so this... More

Paperback edition
12th February 2013
Helpful? Upvote 28

“Totally unconventional...Genius!”

NEW YORK TRILOGYPaul Auster is not your typical American author. His books examine identity, personal histories, mystery, coincidence and language, and this is particularly evident in this collection, where New York... More

Paperback edition
31st January 2013
Helpful? Upvote 22

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.