The New Wilderness (Hardback)
  • The New Wilderness (Hardback)
  • The New Wilderness (Hardback)
zoom
The New Wilderness (Hardback)

The New Wilderness (Hardback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99 £14.99
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 13/08/2020
  • Save £2.00
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A boldly original and darkly humorous dystopian vision, Cook's debut explores humanity's disdain for nature and the boundlessness of maternal love.

Shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2020

Bea's five-year-old daughter, Agnes, is slowly wasting away. The smog and pollution of the overdeveloped, overpopulated metropolis they call home is ravaging her lungs. Bea knows she cannot stay in the City, but there is only one alternative: The Wilderness State. Mankind has never been allowed to venture into this vast expanse of untamed land. Until now.

Bea and Agnes join eighteen other volunteers who agree to take part in a radical experiment. They must slowly learn how to live in the unpredictable, often dangerous Wilderness, leaving no trace on their surroundings in their quest to survive. But as Agnes embraces this new existence, Bea realises that saving her daughter's life might mean losing her in ways she hadn't foreseen.

At once a blazing lament of our contempt for nature and a deeply humane portrayal of motherhood, The New Wilderness is an extraordinary, urgent novel from a celebrated new literary voice.

Publisher: Oneworld Publications
ISBN: 9781786078216
Number of pages: 416
Dimensions: 225 x 146 x 35 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'The New Wilderness is a virtuosic debut, brutal and beautiful in equal measure.' - Emily St. John Mandel, author of Station Eleven and The Glass Hotel

'A wry, speculative debut novel... Cook's unsettling, darkly humorous tale explores maternal love and man's disdain for nature with impressive results.' - Publishers Weekly, starred review

'The New Wilderness left me as stunned as a deer in headlights. Gut-wrenching and heart-wrecking, this is a book that demands to be read, and urgently. With beauty and compassion, Diane Cook writes about the precariousness of life on this planet, about the things that make us human - foremost the love between mothers and daughters, at once complex and elemental. Cook observes humanity as a zoologist might - seeing us exactly as the strange animals we really are.' - Rachel Khong, author of Goodbye, Vitamin

'An absolutely riveting and propulsive novel. Terrifying, and as real as can be. Epic in scale and story; granular and recognisable in people and place. The New Wilderness is surely an instant classic in our stories of survival, sovereignty and adaptation. Cook's writing is so sure-footed, prescient and trustworthy, it's all the reader can do to follow her. For fans of Ling Ma's Severance and Hernan Diaz's In the Distance, and many, many readers in between.' - Caoilinn Hughes, author of The Wild Laughter

'Cook's is a fresh and vivid voice; it's unsurprising the likes of Miranda July and Roxane Gay are fans.' - Observer

'Diane Cook upends old tropes of autonomy, survival, and civilization to reveal startling new life teeming beneath, giving a glimpse into the ways the world we think we know could come unstuck and come to life in the care of the women and girls of the future. This is not just a thrilling, curious, vibrant book - but an essential one, a compass to guide us into the future.' - Alexandra Kleeman, author of You Too Can Have a Body Like Mine

'The New Wilderness strips us of our veneer of civilisation and exposes us for what we are: driven to survive, capable of shocking cruelty and profound, fierce love. This story of what a mother does to save her daughter is unflinching, horrifying, forgiving, deeply moving, and filled with truth that stayed with this mother long after the final page.' - Helen Sedgwick, author of The Comet Seekers

'The emotional core of the story is the relationship between Bea and Agnes, whose perspectives drive the narrative. It's a damning piece of horror cli-fi, but it's also a gripping and profound examination of love and sacrifice.' - Buzzfeed

'The push-pull of ambivalent but powerful love between mother and daughter centers the novel... Cook also raises uncomfortable questions: How far will a person go to survive, and what sacrifices will she or won't she make for those she loves? This ecological horror story (particularly horrifying now) explores painful regions of the human heart.' - Kirkus (starred review)

'The novel tackles the deepest of human emotions-as well as big ideas about the planet-in satisfying ways. Also, it's a page-turner!' - LitHub

'As close to experiencing a Picasso as literature can get.' - Tea Obreht, author of The Tiger's Wife (on Man V. Nature)

'An imaginative, dystopian look at what our world could become... I was gripped by how vivid the story was, how expertly Diane Cook got into the dynamics of a group of strangers surviving in the wild, and their relationship with those in power.' - Hey Alma - Favourite Books for Summer

'Cook is an accomplished writer with a darkly comic touch.' - Irish Times

You may also be interested in...

The Darkest Evening
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Single Thread
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Home Stretch
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Here and Now
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Scabby Queen
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
American Dirt
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Exciting Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
Sweet Sweet Revenge Ltd.
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Terence, Bookseller Newry

“The word for woman is wilderness”

This is a beautiful, but heart rending lament for the loss of the wisdom and richness of our wild nature, both in our world, but also within our collective human psyche.
In 1962 Rachel Carson wrote Silent Spring,... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 30

“Wilding for humans …”

This dystopian novel is not far from the world we live in with suffocating air pollution, overcrowded cities and extreme climate change. There is almost no breathing space left to live. This is the story of a mother... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

“Booker Longlisted 2020”

Thank you to the publishers for this review copy, I admit at first I wasn't sure if this was something I would enjoy...
Longlisted for Booker 2020, so well I thought let's give it a try.
My verdict I... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.