The New Medical Sociology: Compelling Current Narratives (Paperback)
  • The New Medical Sociology: Compelling Current Narratives (Paperback)
zoom

The New Medical Sociology: Compelling Current Narratives (Paperback)

(author)
£38.95
Paperback 324 Pages / Published: 30/11/2013
  • Out of stock

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
In the tradition of C. Wright Mills and Irving Goffman, this monograph brings current research and insight to a social science research area famed for its fissiparous polemical battles. Sperber surveys the field from Durkheim to the present and discusses both the origins of the Radical and neo-Marxist perspective as well as the mainstream, functionalist school of research. The work's unique theoretical contribution lies in several areas. Sperber proposes that some of the diseases of modern civilization (Spanish flu epidemic of 1918, cancer, systemic lupus, heart disease, and chronic depression among others) can be effectively explained, diagnosed and treated only when a systematic sociological perspective is brought to bear on them. Sperber also argues forcefully for a progressive, critical view of the field in language that is clear, forceful and persuasive.

Publisher: Academica Press
ISBN: 9781933146560
Number of pages: 324
Dimensions: 229 x 152 mm

You may also be interested in...

Icons of Life
Added to basket
£27.00
Paperback
The Wounded Storyteller
Added to basket
League Of Denial
Added to basket
After the Wrath of God
Added to basket
Social Epidemiology
Added to basket
Infinite Possibilities
Added to basket
Health
Added to basket
£15.99
Paperback
Health and Globalization
Added to basket
Medical Anthropology
Added to basket
£28.99
Paperback
Pandemics
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Where There Is No Midwife
Added to basket
Key Concepts in Medical Sociology
Added to basket
Anti-Psychiatry
Added to basket
£26.95
Hardback
A Sociology of Mental Health and Illness
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.