The Nature of Witches (Hardback)
  • The Nature of Witches (Hardback)
zoom

The Nature of Witches (Hardback)

(author)
£13.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 01/06/2021
  • Temporarily unavailable

Currently unavailable to order

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

An Instant New York Times Bestseller
In a world where witches control the climate and are losing control as the weather grows more erratic, a once-in-a-generation witch with the magic of all seasons is the only one who can save earth from destruction. But as her power grows, it targets and kills those closest to her, and when she falls in love with her training partner, she's forced to choose between her power, her love, and saving the earth.
* Featuring an exclusive, flower-stamped case, only available on the first print run!
For centuries, witches have maintained the climate, but now their control is faltering as the atmosphere becomes more erratic; the storms, more destructive. All hope lies with Clara, a once-in-a-generation Everwitch whose magic is tied to every season.
In Autumn, Clara wants nothing to do with her power. It's wild and volatile, and the price of her magic-losing the ones she loves-is too high, despite the need to control the increasingly dangerous weather.
In Winter, the world is on the precipice of disaster. Fires burn, storms rage, and Clara accepts that she's the only one who can make a difference.
In Spring, she falls for Sang, the witch training her. As her magic grows, so do her feelings, until she's terrified Sang will be the next one she loses.
In Summer, Clara must choose between her power and her happiness, her duty and the people she loves...before she loses Sang, her magic, and thrusts the world into chaos.
"Perfect for fans of Shea Ernshaw and Taylor Swift's Folklore."-Rosiee Thor, author of Tarnished Are the Stars
"A bright, fresh read from a glowing new voice, THE NATURE OF WITCHES is both timely and stirring. Griffin's emotional writing that cuts to the heart will make her a new YA favorite."-Adrienne Young, New York Times bestselling author of Fable
"The forces of nature and magic blend perfectly in this masterfully told story... I couldn't love this book more."-Shea Ernshaw, NYT bestselling author of The Wicked Deep and Winterwood

Publisher: Sourcebooks, Inc
ISBN: 9781728229423
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 501 g
Dimensions: 215 x 145 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"The Nature of Witches is unlike anything I've read before. With its wholly original take on witches, thought-provoking commentary on climate change, and a swoony romance I would die for, Griffin has crafted a magnificent debut that will have readers on the edge of their seats. To put it simply-I'm obsessed with this book" - Adalyn Grace, NYT bestselling author of All the Stars and Teeth
"The Nature of Witches is a timely, thoughtful tale of the responsibilities we have to our planet and to one another. Griffin's well-developed world building and complex main character make for a read that will resonate deeply." - Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray duology
"Readers will happily dive into Clara's magical realm." - The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"I could have stayed lost in the pages and magic of The Nature of Witches forever. Griffin's lush prose and evocative imagery adorns and compliments the thoughtfully designed world, and the well-drawn characters triumphantly carry the story from beginning to end. A stunning and timely debut" - Isabel Ibanez, author of Woven in Moonlight and Written in Starlight
"Seasonal magic abounds in this addictively thought-provoking tale of love, loss and self-identity" - Dawn Kurtagich, award-winning author of The Dead House
"In her debut, Griffin ties the story of a witch learning her strength to the raw power of nature and places it in a world decimated by climate change. It's new, different, and well worth a read. " - Booklist
"A fascinating blend of climate fiction, fantasy, boarding school novel and romance... Exciting and immersive." - BookPage
""Vibrant and magical, THE NATURE OF WITCHES is an achingly beautiful exploration of love and hope perfect for fans of Shea Ernshaw and Taylor Swift's Folklore. This book is a ray of sunshine." - Rosiee Thor, author of Tarnished Are the Stars
"Fresh and original... This standalone novel ties fantastical elements, LGBTQIA themes, and climate change together into one neat package that will leave readers satisfied" - School Library Journal
"A refreshing take on witches...imaginative, romantic and inspiring." - Shelf Awareness
"The Nature of Witches is a love letter to the earth. This lush, atmospheric book charmed me with its magic system, captured my heart with its swoony romance, and stole my breath with its gorgeous words. I want to wallpaper my home with Rachel Griffin's sentences" - Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of Today Tonight Tomorrow
"Griffin's emotional forthrightness makes this narrative accessible to younger YA readers, who will relish the sweet, supportive relationships tenderly interlacing with nature's rhythms." - Publishers Weekly
"The forces of nature and magic blend perfectly in this masterfully told story. I couldn't love this book more." - Shea Ernshaw, New York TImes bestselling author of THE WICKED DEEP and WINTERWOOD

You may also be interested in...

The Gruffalo
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Christmas Pine
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Cat Kid Comic Club 2
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Gilded
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Jolly Christmas Postman
Added to basket
Dragons Don't Share
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Boy With Wings
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Isadora Moon and the Shooting Star
Added to basket
It's Behind You
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Tom Gates: Random Acts of Fun
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
A Christmas Story
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.