The Narrow Bed: Culver Valley Crime Book 10 (Paperback)
  • The Narrow Bed: Culver Valley Crime Book 10 (Paperback)
zoom

The Narrow Bed: Culver Valley Crime Book 10 (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 416 Pages
Published: 20/10/2016
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A must-read for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Paula Hawkins.

'Sophie Hannah is genuinely Christie's heir' The Scotsman
'Hugely entertaining, full of uncomfortable truths' London Evening Standard

What if having a best friend was the most dangerous thing you could do?

A killer that the police are calling 'Billy Dead Mates' is murdering pairs of best friends, one by one.

Before they die, each victim is given a small white book...

For months, detectives have failed to catch Billy, or work out what the white books mean. And then a woman, scared by what she's seen on the news, comes forward.

Stand-up comedian Kim Tribbeck has one of Billy's peculiar little books. A stranger gave it to her at a gig she did a year ago. Was he Billy, and does he want to kill her? Kim has no friends and trusts no one, so how - and why - could she possibly be Billy Dead Mates' next target?

This is the next chilling novel from the queen of psychological crime - a literary puzzle set to unlock the dark side of the mind . . .

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781444776102
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 288 g
Dimensions: 199 x 133 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

THE NARROW BED introduces us to Sophie Hannah's possibly most entertaining character yet . . . the central plot is eventually explained with Hannah's powers of outrageous cunning at full blast. - Sunday Express

The solution to the crimes is one of her most ingenious and also adroitly contributes to a current debate; though to say which would be to spoil the fine Agatha Christie-style denouement. - Sunday Times

Sophie Hannah is genuinely Christie's heir. Her crime novels have a deep vein of surrealism; not just in the ingenious plotting but in the seething menace lying behind the everyday. The Narrow Bed . . . is exquisitely horrible. As with previous books, much of the enjoyment here is in the psychological acuity. Although she is praised for the twistiness of her plots, Hannah's real gift is in revealing the contorted and convoluted nature of the human heart. - Scotsman

A madly enjoyable novel that takes great pleasure in deconstructing as many narrative tropes as possible. - Metro

Hugely entertaining, full of uncomfortable truths - London Evening Standard

As an ever-growing legion of crime writers fights for the attention of readers, it's comforting to settle down in the company of someone utterly reliable. Sophie Hannah rarely puts a foot wrong in her complex psychological thrillers, and this latest book bristles with the acutely observed characterisation that is the hallmark of her work. - Financial Times

Hannah's mastery of plot and character are simply peerless. - Heat

Imaginative, quirky, inventive and bleakly funny . . . The Narrow Bed confirms Hannah's place as the mistress of postmodern crime fiction. - Independent

You may also be interested in...

The Silent Patient
Added to basket
Yellowface
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
No Plan B
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Slow Horses
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Skeleton Key
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
In Too Deep
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Damascus Station
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Killing Moon
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“As beds go, this one needs new springs.”

Apologies for the one-star review with no real explanation, but to do so would necessitate a spoiler function, which this site doesn't have. "It's not terribly good - end of story"; this is about... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 85

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: