• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The Painted Dragon: The Sinclair's Mysteries - The Sinclair's Mysteries 3 (Paperback)
  • The Painted Dragon: The Sinclair's Mysteries - The Sinclair's Mysteries 3 (Paperback)
zoom

The Painted Dragon: The Sinclair's Mysteries - The Sinclair's Mysteries 3 (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 09/02/2017
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Before her, the dark mouth of the railway tunnel yawned open, vast and pitch black. Then came a flicker of light ahead – and the scream of a train, rushing out of the tunnel towards her.

The two most daring detectives in London are back and now they’re faced with their most daunting and dangerous challenge to date.

When a priceless painting is stolen, our dauntless heroines Sophie and Lil find themselves faced with forgery, trickery and deceit on all sides!

Be amazed as the brave duo pit their wits against this perilous puzzle!

Marvel at their cunning plan to unmask the villain and prove themselves detectives to be reckoned with - no matter what dangers lie ahead...

It's their most perilous adventure yet!

The Painted Dragon is the third book in the Sinclair's Mysteries quartet. The other two books are the bestselling The Clockwork Sparrow and The Jewelled Moth.

A fast-paced historical mystery adventure for readers aged 9+ years, with gorgeous Edwardian period detail. Perfect for fans of Chris Riddell's Goth Girl series, Enid Blyton and Robin Stevens' Murder Most Unladylike series.

Praise for The Clockwork Sparrow:

‘A wonderful book, with a glorious heroine and a true spirit of adventure.’ - Katherine Rundell, author of Rooftoppers.

‘A real page-turner, it has murders, spies and gangs of thieves. Thrilling!’ - Indiana, aged 10 years, LoveReadingforKids reviewer.

‘Dastardliness on a big scale is uncovered in this well-plotted, evocative novel.’ - Nicolette Jones, The Sunday Times

‘It's a dashing plot, an atmospheric setting and an extensive and imaginative cast. Katherine Woodfine handles it all with aplomb.’ - Julia Eccleshare, The Guardian

‘An incredible read full of mystery, wonder and adventure...This is now one of my top ten.’ -  Celeste, age 13 years, LoveReading4Kids reviewer

Katherine Woodfine is a true champion of children's literature and one of Waterstones’ own, having started her career as a bookseller in our Lancaster branch. Since then she’s gone on to have a distinctly bookish career; until 2015 she was Arts Project Manager for Booktrust, where she project-managed the Children's Laureateship and YALC, the UK's first Young Adult Literature Convention, curated by Malorie Blackman. Alongside writing her brilliant children’s books she is also part of the founding team at Down the Rabbit Hole, a monthly show for Resonance FM discussing children's literature and you can follow her blog at followtheyellow.co.uk. She lives in London where, when she’s not writing or reading, she says she loves‘art galleries, Earl Grey tea, wearing cosy jumpers, going for long windswept walks, black and white films, red shoes and of course, cake.’

Publisher: Egmont UK Ltd
ISBN: 9781405282895
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 283 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 21 mm

You may also be interested in...

A Wrinkle in Time
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Added to basket
Mr Stink
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Fighting Fantasy: The Gates of Death
Added to basket
The House with Chicken Legs
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Wonder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Kid Normal
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Wave Me Goodbye
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Demon Dentist
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Spoonful of Murder: A Murder Most Unladylike Mystery
Added to basket
Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Ratburger
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
My Mum Tracy Beaker
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
Awful Auntie
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Beyond the Odyssey
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all
Holly at Plymouth

“An unmissable series”

When a priceless painting, owned by none other than His Majesty the King, goes missing from Sinclair's department store it is up to our intrepid heroines - Sophie and Lil - to solve the mystery!

In this third... More

Paperback edition
19th February 2017
Helpful? Upvote 62

“An expertly executed novel ”

The pace and suspense keep you turning page after page eager to find out what happens. Now we eagerly await the next instalment to find out more about the mysterious Baron. Who is and why hasn't he killed... More

Paperback edition
14th March 2017
Helpful? Upvote 41

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.