The Murder Game - Stephanie King 2 (Hardback)
  • The Murder Game - Stephanie King 2 (Hardback)
zoom

The Murder Game - Stephanie King 2 (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 16/04/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The thrilling new #1 bestseller from the 'Queen of twisted suspense.'

We were all there that day. Now one of us is dead...

The first time Jemma and Matt were invited to Polskirrin - Lucas Jarrett's imposing ocean-view home - it was for an intimate wedding that ended in tragedy. Jemma will never forget the sight of the girl's body floating towards the rocky shore.

Now, exactly one year later, Lucas has invited his guests back for a macabre anniversary.

But what Lucas has in store for them is nothing like a candlelight vigil. Someone who was there that night remembers more than they'll admit to, and Lucas has devised a game to make them tell the truth.

Jemma believes she and Matt know nothing about what happened... but what if she's wrong? Before you play a deadly game, make sure you can pay the price...

A compulsive psychological thriller in a stunning setting that will have you gripped until the last page. Perfect for fans of The Hunting Party and The Holiday.

What readers are saying about THE MURDER GAME:

'Abbott is a gifted storyteller and this book is a total delight'
Daily Mail

'A twisty-turny plot that had my head reeling, and my mind full of intrigue. Superb plotting from the mistress of suspense' Mel Sherratt, bestselling author of Hush Hush

'A grand re-imagining of the best kind of crime caper, filled with underlying tensions, fancy rooms and a detective hungry for answers' Magic Radio: April Book Club Pick

'Fantastic and gripping - I loved the intriguing concept and the brilliantly atmospheric Cornish setting' Karen Hamilton, bestselling author of The Perfect Girlfriend

'This gallops along at a cracking pace, and manages to keep the twists and surprises coming thick and fast' Crime Monthly

'A brilliant read, full of suspense' Closer

'The Murder Game plunges you slap-bang in the middle of a very dangerous game, and Abbott adds to a list of tales to take your breath away' Sun

Praise for Rachel Abbott's thrillers:

'A dark, extremely readable, well-plotted psychological thriller' The Times

'It's easy to see why readers keep coming back for this author's thrills' Observer

'What a storyteller Rachel Abbott is... I was hooked from the start' Cara Hunter, author of Close to Home

'The twists just don't stop' Heat

'A blockbuster crammed with drama and laced with up-to-date psychological insight' Daily Mail

'A properly addictive, leave-the-light-on thriller' Red Magazine

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472254948
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 629 g
Dimensions: 236 x 158 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
I was hooked from the first page, it was absolutely brilliant ... The twists came so quickly I almost got whiplash -- Jenny Blackhurst * The Foster Child *
I loved it! It's a breathless tour de force that left me hungry for more. I loved the strong female characters, atmospheric Cornish setting and the truly surprising ending. Psychological crime writing at its very best. -- Kate Rhodes * Crossbones Yard *
Really gripping and menacing - compulsive reading -- Harriet Tyce * Blood Orange *
What a storyteller Rachel Abbott is... I was hooked from the start -- Cara Hunter * Close to Home *
I raced through this compelling, twisty novel. Loved it -- Laura Marshall * Friend Request *
Rachel Abbott is one of my favourite authors, and I'm reminded why every time I pick up one of her books... And So It Begins is an unnerving, twisting tale that you won't be able to put down -- Caroline Mitchell * Silent Victim *
A truly compelling, twisty, enthralling and satisfying read... Absolutely AMAZING! -- Angela Marsons * Evil Games *
With And So It Begins, Rachael Abbott has delivered another intricately plotted thriller that never falters on tension or pace ... the suspense doesn't let up until the very last page -- Michelle Davies * Gone Astray *
The definition of addictive - Rachel Abbott's best book yet. Kept me up until the small hours - and you won't see the ending coming -- Phoebe Morgan * The Doll House *
The case is complex, the courtroom drama intense and the shifting perspectives successfully undermine expectation in this novel of obsession, revenge and retribution * Woman & Home *
There's a clever twist, which Abbott carefully unveils... it's easy to see why readers keep coming back for this author's thrills * Observer *
A Must Read * S Magazine *
The queen of psychological thrillers does not disappoint with this dark and tense tale * Fabulous *
Abbott's first traditionally published novel is a powerhouse combinaiton of psycological thriller and intense courtroom drama - and the twists just don't stop coming. -- Lisa Howells * Heat *
Abbott debuts in print with an explosive thriller. It's a minefield of surprises ... It twists and turns like a snake in an oil slick. * Peterborough Telegraph *
And So It Begins is a dark, extremely readable, well-plotted psychological thriller culminating in a courtroom drama... It's obvious why Abbott has attracted her huge audience. * The Times *
If you're a fan of Gone Girl and The Girl On The Train, Rachel Abbott's And So It Begins won't disappoint ... Abbott leaves you guessing until the final few pages. * Herald *
It's easy to see from this gripping story's frequent twists and bluffs, in a narrative that's rooted in psychology, how word-of-mouth recommendation from one reader to another allowed Abbott to stand out in a crowded market. * Morning Star *

You may also be interested in...

The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
A Single Thread
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Pine
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Confession
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Giver of Stars
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Those Who Are Loved
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A very clever game”

I really like Stephanie King and enjoyed book 1 very much. The Murder Game starts very unusually, as for the first approximately 20%, Stephanie King doesn't even get a mention. Instead, the scene is set for a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“A great setting for a mystery”

What a great read this was!  Set in the most amazing sounding location of Polskirrin, a beautiful large house set in glorious gardens by it's own private beach, in a remote part of Cornwall, you couldn't get... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 3

“gripping”

And So It Begins is the first novel by Rachel Abbott I read and it is also the first novel featuring detective Stephanie King. I really liked And So It Begins and I am so happy they are both back. I said I liked the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.