Your Waterstones card is changing, introducing...
TELL ME MORE
The Movement of Stars (Paperback)
  • The Movement of Stars (Paperback)
zoom

The Movement of Stars (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 09/05/2013
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Check availability At your local shop
Amy Brill's The Movement of Stars tells a story of illicit love and extraordinary ambition. It is 1845, and Hannah Gardner Price dreams of a world infinitely larger than the small Quaker community where she has lived all 25 years of her life - for, as an amateur astronomer, she secretly hopes to discover a comet and win the King of Denmark's prize for doing so. But she can only indulge her passion for astronomy as long as the men in her life - her father, brother and family friends - are prepared to support it, and so she treads a fine line between pursuing her dreams and submitting to the wishes and expectations of those around her. That line is crossed when Hannah meets Isaac Martin, a young black whaler from the Azores. Isaac, like Hannah herself, has ambitions beyond his station. Drawn to him despite their differences, Hannah agrees to tutor him in the art of navigation. As their shared passion for the stars develops into something deeper, however, Hannah's standing in the community is called into question, and she has to choose: her dreams or her heart. Loosely inspired by the work of Maria Mitchell, the first American woman to become a professional astronomer, The Movement of Stars is, at its heart, a glorious - and unusual - love story. With shades of Chocolat and Remarkable Creatures, it will appeal to fans of Tracy Chevalier, Joanne Harris and Rose Tremain. 'Blazes with real feeling and intensity. A terrifically poised and captivating debut' Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife 'Spectacular . . . I cheered for Hannah Price, our feisty heroine, as she unraveled the mystery of her own desires while burning a trail for other women to follow' Hannah Tinti, author of The Good Thief 'A bittersweet story, movingly told' Daphne Kalotay, author of Russian Winter Amy Brill lives in Brooklyn with her husband and two daughters. This is her first novel.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780718159924
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 309 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
In Hannah, Amy Brill has fashioned an extraordinary character and quiet hero -- a woman who charts her own course, and who places knowledge and her own soul's independence up with the highest, brightest stars * Paula McLain, author of The Paris Wife *
Amy Brill shines in her sparkling debut novel, The Movement of Stars, inspired by the work of a 19th-century female astronomer * Vanity Fair *
A spectacular debut . . . I cheered for Hannah Price, our feisty heroine, as she unraveled the mystery of her own desires while burning a trail for other women to follow * Hannah Tinti, author of The Good Thief *
Probing yet accessible, beautifully written and richly characterized * Kirkus *
A bittersweet story, movingly told . . . Brill's uncluttered prose mirrors her heroine's clear eye and Quaker reserve as Hannah explores both the expanding universe and her burgeoning emotions -- amid increasingly binding circumstances. * Daphne Kalotay, author of Russian Winter *
Compelling . . . A stirring historical drama * Booklist *

You may also be interested in...

Ladder Of Years
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Killing Commendatore
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Love Letter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lullaby
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Last Letter Home
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Sealwoman's Gift
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Men Without Women
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Immortalists
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.