The Mosaic Of Shadows: a thrilling epic of murder, betrayal, bloodshed and intrigue in the age of the Crusades (Paperback)
  • The Mosaic Of Shadows: a thrilling epic of murder, betrayal, bloodshed and intrigue in the age of the Crusades (Paperback)
zoom

The Mosaic Of Shadows: a thrilling epic of murder, betrayal, bloodshed and intrigue in the age of the Crusades (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£13.99
Paperback 480 Pages / Published: 21/04/2005
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Perfect for fans of Conn Iggulden, Lindsey Davis, Steven Pressfield, this breathtaking and captivating novel brings the Crusades to life in all their triumphant and tragic glory.

'Gripping from the first page, the reader is swept up in this colourful and convincing portrayal of an Emperor and his realm under siege.' - Ink

'Superb read. Thoroughly enjoyed it' -- ***** Reader review
'Highly enjoyable read' -- ***** Reader review
'Brilliant.' -- ***** Reader review
'Holds your interest from [the first] to the last page' -- ***** Reader review

********************************************************************

AN ASSASSIN IS ON THE LOOSE...AND AN EMPIRE STANDS IN PERIL

Byzantium, 1096:
When a mysterious assassin fires his arrow at the Emperor, he has more than a man in his sights; as the keystone of a crumbling empire, if he falls, then the mightiest power in Christendom will be torn apart. Aware of the stakes, the Emperor hires Demetrios Askiates, the unveiler of mysteries, to catch the would-be-killer.

But Demetrios is entering an unknown and mysterious world and must edge his way through a glittering maze of treachery and deceit before time runs out. Nor are all enemies within the city walls. With the Turks rampant across Asia, the Emperor has sent to the west for mercenaries to reinforce his position.

When a great army, tens of thousands strong, appears before the gates, he gets more than he bargained for. The first crusaders have arrived, intent on making their fortunes in war, and they have no allegiance to an empire they eye with jealousy and suspicion.

As the armies of east and west confront each other, and the assassin creeps ever closer to his prey, Demetrios must untangle the golden web of intrigue which surrounds the Emperor before the city - and the empire - are drowned in blood.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9780099453482
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 256 g
Dimensions: 178 x 110 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
An epic tale of murder and betrayal, bloodshed and romance. Gripping from the first page, the reader is swept up in this colourful and convincing portrayal of an Emperor and his realm, under seige. Well-researched and cinematic in its imagery, this is a faced-paced and exciting debut * Ink *
Harper's...portrayal of the Byzantine city and the intrigues that threaten its destruction is vivid and convincing * Joan Smith, Sunday Times *
It's a world which Harper brings exuberantly to life, clearly revelling in its teeming, tumultuous extravagance * Yorkshire Post *

You may also be interested in...

For Any Other Truth
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Maidens
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Last Protector
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Silent Wife
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Windsor Knot
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
People of Abandoned Character
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Darkest Evening
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Postscript Murders
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Camino Winds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Feast
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Killings at Kingfisher Hill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“The First Crusade - the human story”

Basically this follows the adventures of Demetrios Askiates and his companions during the First Crusade but tt is so much more than this. The book is very character driven but also explores the true cost in human... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.