The Minuscule Mansion of Myra Malone (Hardback)
  • The Minuscule Mansion of Myra Malone (Hardback)
zoom

The Minuscule Mansion of Myra Malone (Hardback)

(author)
9 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£18.99
Hardback 336 Pages
Published: 01/06/2023
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

With a love story at its heart, The Minuscule Mansion of Myra Malone weaves multiple periods and perspectives into a charming, magical story about a mystical dolls' house. A beautiful, unforgettable mystery from debut author Audrey Burges.

Once upon a time there was a house . . .

From her attic in the Arizona mountains, thirty-four year-old recluse Myra Malone blogs about a miniature mansion – a dolls' house – which captivates thousands of readers worldwide. Myra herself is tethered to the Mansion by a strange magic she can’t understand - there are rooms that appear and disappear overnight, music that plays in its corridors.

Across the country, Alex Rakes, the thirty-four year-old heir of a furniture business, encounters two Mansion fans trying to recreate a room from her stories. Alex is shocked to recognize his own bedroom in minute scale.

The Mansion is his family’s home, handed down from the grandmother who disappeared mysteriously when Alex was a child. Searching for answers, Alex begins corresponding with Myra. Together, the two unwind the lonely paths of their twin worlds - big and small - and trace the stories that entwine them, setting the stage for a meeting rooted in loss, but defined by love.

Readers are enchanted by this magical tale:

'A wonderful story, beautifully crafted. I got completely lost in it.'

'I could not put this book down nor can I describe it to you. But it’s a story you want to read and tuck away in your heart . . . like that magical dress you had as a child'

'ALL THE STARS!! I loved this one so very much - my first 5 star read of the year! Magic realism, a romance and a little mystery all rolled into one in this touching story . . . '

'Love stories, detailed and fascinating miniatures, and magic make a perfect potion . . .'

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781035009213
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 540 g
Dimensions: 240 x 161 x 38 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Lively, stylish, and full of heart. The Minuscule Mansion of Myra Malone is decorated with gorgeous wordsmithery and magical trimmings, and I loved every minute spent inside. - Sarah Addison Allen, New York Times bestselling author of Other Birds

[It is] a mystical, poignant tale about loneliness, loss and love. - Woman's Own

The Miniscule Mansion of Myra Malone is a mystery, a family drama and a love story, with a touch of the paranormal adding an extra thread of curiosity to the intergenerational tale. - Culturefly

At its beautifully oh-so different heart, The Minuscule Mansion is a fabulously warming feel-good debut novel. The magic realism of this story adds strength and vibrancy, I had absolutely no hesitation in falling headlong into this tale . . . a quirky and joy filled read we recommend with heart and soul. - LoveReading.com

A cosy, old-fashioned yet highly original romance to bring a bit of sunshine into these grey, sodden 'summer' days. - Anne Cunningham, Meath Chronicle

Absolutely charming and haunting in equal measures, a beautifully written love story - Taleen Voskuni, author of Sorry, Bro

A generous, big-hearted reprieve from our ever-more-troubling reality; a modern fairy tale . . . Audrey Burges is a storyteller of warmth, wit, and stunning originality. - Katie Gutierrez, bestselling author of More Than You'll Ever Know

A refreshing and unique entry into the genre of mystical realism. Perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen and for all book lovers searching for a fantastic read. - Karen White, New York Times bestselling author of The Shop on Royal Street

Love, loss, and loneliness: this book explores it all, with Burges’ characteristic humour and care. - Rachel Mans McKenny, award-winning author of The Butterfly Effect

A poignant, beautiful debut filled with magic, fate and redemption - Rachel Linden, author of The Magic of Lemon Drop Pie

This well-written novel with heart-warming characters is perfect for fans of magical realism by the likes of Sarah Addison Allen and Isabel Allende. - Library Journal

Sparkling and unforgettable - The Nerd Daily

Burges creates a magical, unique world, and her characters are incredibly lovable . . . Perfect for readers who long to escape into a world of magic and romance. - Kirkus

This creative, engaging debut weaves together an unusual family legacy, a romance between two lonely souls, and a touch of magic . . . - Booklist

Charmingly combines threads of magic, whimsy, romance, grief and loss in a debut novel of great feeling . . . This captivating novel of miniature furniture and big themes braids strong friendships, romance, family ties and the importance of stepping outside of one's comfort zone. - Shelf Awareness

Audrey Burges’ bewitching tale reminds us that we all need a refuge from the real world sometimes. - WI Life

You may also be interested in...

The Sound of Waves
Added to basket
Giovanni's Room
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The French Lieutenant's Woman
Added to basket
Hopeless
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Maybe Someday
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Lady Chatterley's Lover
Added to basket
Ugly Love
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Remember Me?
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Losing Hope
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Point of Retreat
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
This Girl
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Confess
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Bully
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“Beautifully written”

A 4⭐️/5 read. This is not a spoiler free review.

This novel is supposedly about Myra, the Mansion and Alex, but it is so much more. It is principally a family drama (two families actually) imbued with magical... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Boring !”

Oh no it was so boring , I struggled to read it . Not only does it go back and forth and completely confuse one , it talks about boring furniture all the time . If you like furniture then great . But seriously not for... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Magical”

I’m not sure why this worked quite as well as it did, but this was a really fabulous story. The magical realism aspect felt so wonderful, and the connection between miniature life and real life was delightful.
I... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: