The Ministry of Utmost Happiness (Paperback)
  • The Ministry of Utmost Happiness (Paperback)
zoom

The Ministry of Utmost Happiness (Paperback)

(author)
9 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 464 Pages
Published: 07/06/2018
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A triumphant return from Arundhati Roy, 20 years after her Booker Prize-winning debut The God of Small Things. An interwoven portrait of contemporary India: ambitious, exuberant and unforgettable.

Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2018

Longlisted for the Man Booker Prize 2017

A richly moving new novel—the first since the author’s Booker-Prize winning, internationally celebrated debut, The God of Small Things, went on to become a beloved best seller and enduring classic.

How to tell a shattered story? By slowly becoming everybody. No. By slowly becoming everything.

The Ministry of Utmost Happiness transports us across a sub-continent on a journey of many years. It takes us deep into the lives of its gloriously rendered characters, each of them in search of a place of safety— in search of meaning, and of love.

In a graveyard outside the walls of Old Delhi, a resident unrolls a threadbare Persian carpet. On a concrete sidewalk, a baby suddenly appears, just after midnight. In a snowy valley, a bereaved father writes a letter to his five-year-old daughter about the people who came to her funeral. In a second-floor apartment, a lone woman chain-smokes as she reads through her old notebooks. At the Jannat Guest House, two people who have known each other all their lives sleep with their arms wrapped around one another, as though they have just met.

A braided narrative of astonishing force and originality, The Ministry of Utmost Happiness is at once a love story and a provocation—a novel as inventive as it is emotionally engaging. It is told with a whisper, in a shout, through joyous tears and sometimes with a bitter laugh. Its heroes, both present and departed, have been broken by the world we live in—and then mended by love. For this reason, they will never surrender.

Humane and sensuous, beautifully told, this extraordinary novel demonstrates on every page the miracle of Arundhati Roy’s storytelling gifts.

Want to read more about Arundhati Roy's long-awaited return to fiction? Simon Prosser, Hamish Hamilton's Publishing Director, describes the extraordinary moment he received the manuscript for The Ministry of Utmost Happiness.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241980767
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 319 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

She is back with a heavyweight state-of-the-nation story that has been ten years in the making - Daily Mail

Roy's second novel proves as remarkable as her first - Financial Times

The Ministry of Utmost Happiness confirms Roy's status as a writer of delicate human dramas that also touch on some of the largest questions of the day. It is the novel as intimate epic. Expect to see it on every prize shortlist this year - The Times

Heartfelt, poetic, intimate, laced with ironic humour...The intensity of Roy's writing - the sheer amount she cares about these people - compels you to concentrate...This is the novel one hoped Arundhati Roy would write about India - Daily Telegraph

Teems with human drama, contains a vivid cast of characters and offers an evocative, searing portrait of modern India - Tatler

A beautiful and grotesque portrait of modern India and the world beyond. Take your time over it, just as the author did - Good Housekeeping

Fantastic. The novel is unflinchingly critical of power, and yet she empowers her underdog characters to persevere, leaving readers with a few droplets of much-needed hope. It's heartening when writers live up to the hyperbole that surrounds them - Hirsh Sawhney

A kaleidoscopic story about the struggle for Kashmir's independence - Washington Post

A sprawling, kaleidoscopic fable about love and resistance in modern India - The Guardian

The follow-up we've been longing for - a poetic, densely populated contemporary novel in the tradition of Dickens and Tolstoy. From its beginning, one is swept up in the story... With her exquisite and dynamic storytelling, Roy balances scenes of suffering and corruption with humour and transcendence - Vogue

Compelling, musical, cinematic... [A] genuine poignancy and depth of emotion. Her gift is for the personal: for poetic description [and an] ability to map the complicated arithmetic of love and belonging . . . The Ministry of Utmost Happiness manages to extract hope from tragedies - The New York Times

A passionate political masterpiece - Times Literary Supplement

You may also be interested in...

Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
You Are Here
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Ministry of Time
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
You Like It Darker
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
You Like It Darker
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback

“The most anticipated book of 2017...”

Arundhati Roy returns with her first novel for 20 years since her Booker Prize award winning debut. This is the most anticipated book of 2017 and I must say the most ambitious as well.

It has got colourful and... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 219

“A chaotic blend of anger, love, hope and heartbreak.”

The Ministry of Utmost Happiness is a chaotic blend of anger, love, hope and heartbreak set amongst the political and sociological landscape of India, Kashmir and Pakistan; always intertwined, yet forever apart.... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 157

“She lived in the graveyard like a tree...”

...and so the story begins. Arundhati Roy is back with an extremely detailed epic about Indian nationalism and has been strongly influenced by ongoing political themes. Creatively she has explored many avenues... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 154

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: