Find your perfect holiday reading
The Meaning of Birds (Hardback)
  • The Meaning of Birds (Hardback)
zoom

The Meaning of Birds (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99 £9.99
Hardback 368 Pages / Published: 30/05/2019
  • Save £3.00
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

"An evocative story of the thrills of first love and the anguish of first loss. This will break you and heal you."-Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin'

Not to be missed by fans of Nina LaCour and Becky Albertalli, this powerful novel-from the acclaimed author of Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit-paints a poignant portrait of love in the past, grief in the now, and the healing power of art.

Before: Jess has always struggled with the fire inside her. But when she meets Vivi, everything changes. As they fall for each other, Vivi helps Jess deal with her anger and pain and encourages her to embrace her artistic talent. And suddenly Jess's future is a blank canvas, filled with possibilities.

After: When Vivi unexpectedly dies, Jess's perfect world is erased. As she spirals out of control, Jess pushes away everyone around her and throws out her plans for art school. Because art is Vivi and Vivi is gone forever. Right when Jess feels at her lowest, she makes a surprising friend who just might be able to show her a new way to channel her rage, passion, and creativity. But will Jess ever be able to forge a new path for herself without Vivi?

A beautiful exploration of first love and first loss, this novel effortlessly weaves together past and present to tell a profound story about how you can become whole again when it seems like you've lost the most important part of yourself.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062824448
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 422 g
Dimensions: 210 x 140 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for The Meaning of Birds: "An evocative story of the thrills of first love and the anguish of first loss. This will break you and heal you." -- Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin'
"An unforgettable story that resonated deep in my bones, The Meaning of Birds will break your heart and then put it right back together again. Jess and Vivi's relationship was so beautiful and true. I loved them and didn't want the story to end." -- Amber Smith, New York Times bestselling author of The Way I Used to Be
"A profoundly moving and exquisitely written story of love, loss, grief, and healing. These characters have imprinted on my heart and will be with me for a long, long time." -- Amy Reed, author of Beautiful and The Nowhere Girls
"A heart-wrenching journey through anger and grief, balanced on the sharp edge of hope." -- Malinda Lo, author of Ash and A Line in the Dark
"Prepare to cry, often-and to be thoroughly swept away into this subtle and utterly real story of grief and love and heartbreak and finding yourself in the middle of it all." -- Robin Talley, New York Times bestselling author of The Lies We Tell Ourselves and Our Own Private Universe
"Frank and accessible, this gritty drama realizes with great compassion and empathy the ways reckoning with loss can manifest." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Affectionately rendered. Brown depicts Jess with raw realism." -- Publishers Weekly
"Brown's exploration of loss is raw and devastating, placing readers directly into Jess's turbulent experience. Captures the ambivalence of grief in this searing and ultimately hopeful novel. For fans of Jandy Nelson, Adam Silvera, and Nicola Yoon." -- School Library Journal

You may also be interested in...

The World's Worst Teachers
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
The Boy At the Back of the Class
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Two Can Keep a Secret
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Getaway (book 12)
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
My Cousin Is a Time Traveller
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Not My Fault
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Oi Duck-billed Platypus!
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Dear Evan Hansen
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Mermaid
Added to basket
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Head Kid
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Unicorn
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.