The Majesties (Paperback)
  • The Majesties (Paperback)
  • The Majesties (Paperback)
zoom
The Majesties (Paperback)

The Majesties (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 272 Pages
Published: 06/08/2020
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

The sole survivor of a familial tragedy sets out to uncover what led her sister to poison their entire family in this engrossing literary thriller, delving deep into the secrets that fester under the glimmering world of Indonesia’s powerful elite.

Gwendolyn and Estella are as close as sisters can be. But now Gwendolyn is lying in a coma, the sole survivor after Estella poisons their entire family.

As Gwendolyn struggles to regain consciousness, she desperately retraces her memories, trying to uncover the moment that led to such a brutal act.

Journeying from the luxurious world of Indonesia's rich and powerful, to the spectacular shows of Paris Fashion Week, and the melting pot of Melbourne's student scene, The Majesties is a haunting novel about the dark secrets that can build a family empire - and also bring it crashing down.

Publisher: Pushkin Press
ISBN: 9781782276654
Number of pages: 272
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Fresh, sharp, and thrilling... A darkly gorgeous read you won't soon forget. - Tanen Jones, author of The Better Liar

Hints turn to clues turn to evidence of damaging secrets in the privileged world of the Asian superrich, and it turns out that a sisterly bond is no match for the corrupt forces that surround them. Riveting. - Sunday Times Crime Club

A sharply realised page-turner with a brilliant twist, written with an effortless command of pace and suspense. - Sydney Morning Herald

The Majesties, although it rolls out easily, troubles deeply, haunting and even chilling its reader well beyond the final page. - New York Journal of Books

Tsao spins a Crazy Rich Asians-esque saga of family wealth and deception as a nasty-fun murder mystery chronicling the events leading up to a woman's poisoning of her extended clan. - Entertainment Weekly

The ultimate toxic twist. - Salon

Tsao cannily pulls back the gilded surface from a wealthy Indonesian family, revealing a rotten core... the narrative unfolds in a manner that's both suspenseful and creepily claustrophobic... A bold and dramatic portrayal of characters on the cusp of an impossible choice between complicit self-preservation and total annihilation. - Publisher's Weekly

Tsao excels at delivering biting social commentary while also telling a riveting story... It's shocking how enjoyable and delicious this dark, disturbing novel was. - NPR

A dark, delicious tale that will creep its way into your brain and leave you examining your own soul for signs of moral rot. I downed it in one greedy shot. - Jade Chang, author of THE WANGS VS. THE WORLD

Tiffany Tsao's visceral debut...reads a bit like Crazy Rich Asians if the book began with familicide instead of romance... Why not start off the new year with the perfect tear-it-all-down read? - Crimereads

A sobering look at the dark side of extreme wealth among Chinese families in Indonesia... Tsao's depiction of domestic abuse is powerful. - Kirkus Reviews

An urgent literary thriller that also affectingly, seamlessly acts as a social treatise exposing the moral and legal abuses of the ultra-elite...an engrossing, eloquent story of fatal familial dysfunction. - Shelf Awareness, starred review

The Majesties is a thrilling, tender page-turner, the darker side of Crazy Rich Asians. - Krys Lee, author of HOW I BECAME A NORTH KOREAN

Tsao deftly juggles a large cast of characters, and her thorough examination of the life of a wealthy Chinese-Indonesian family, as well as her insights into the false assumptions those in the Chinese, Indonesian, and Western communities make about its members, are intelligent and lively. - Booklist

One of the most gripping, original and enlightening novels of the day. - SA Weekend

A compelling page-turner, it reveals the intricate dynamics between love, ambition, and fear as we journey through dark family secrets and unlock door after door before reaching the dead end. The Majesties is a chilling novel about what a family is capable of for the sake of maintaining illusions and the desperate, destructive ways that its entrapped members must take in order to escape. - Intan Paramaditha, author of APPLE AND KNIFE and THE WANDERING

Tiffany Tsao's novel of sisters Gwendolyn and Estella is haunting, disturbing and vivid. It is one of those novels that has such a strong opening chapter that I questioned if the author would be able to meet my expectations for the rest of the novel. But meet them she did. - Readings

[A] riveting and disquieting thriller about the secrets and betrayals that accompany exorbitant wealth. - The Nerd Daily

A glorious, dark and haunting depiction of Indonesian-Chinese high society. Awesome characters. A masterclass in storytelling. Fierce social commentary. Highly recommended & a privilege to read - Maxine Mei-Fung Chung, author of THE EIGHTH GIRL

Ideal for fans of My Sister, The Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite, it is full of suspense and steeped in opulence. Well-paced and beautifully written, ignore any comparisons made to the Crazy Rich Asians trilogy - this book is in a world of its own. - Lifestyle Daily

A fascinating twist on the domestic thriller, with unexpected twists and a rather unique voice...this proves a terribly intense but sharp exploration of the dark side of human nature. - Maxim Jakubowski, Crimetime

You may also be interested in...

The Skeleton Key
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
My Father's House
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Fury
Added to basket
£18.99   £9.49
Hardback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
In Too Deep
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
No Plan B
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Slow Horses
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Year of the Locust
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
Stephanie Jane

“My favourite Tiffany Tsao novel yet”

I loved Tiffany Tsao's Oddfits books so grabbed a review copy of The Majesties from NetGalley purely on the strength of her name. I didn't realise that this publication is actually a re-release of a novel... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“Sisters, always.”

The Majesties by Tiffany Tsao Published by Pushkin Press With its shocking opening, this quirky tale is a dramatic story of Gwendolyn & Estella - sisters with a shared childhood interest in entomology. This bugs... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Engrossing and extremely fun”

A completely engrossing, thrillingly crazy novel about family, culpability, and racial politics in Indonesia. The book starts arrestingly with Estella, an Indonesian-Chinese socialite, murdering 300 friends and family... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: