The Maiden: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)
  • The Maiden: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)
  • The Maiden: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)
zoom
The Maiden: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)

The Maiden: Exclusive Edition (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 29/02/2024
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Inspired by real-life events, Foster's electrifying seventeenth-century-set whodunit revolves around a respectable noblewoman accused of the shocking murder of her lover.

Exclusive Edition with sprayed edges - A Standard Edition is also available

Waterstones Scottish Book of the Month for March 2024

Longlisted for the Women's Prize for Fiction 2024

Inspired by a real-life case, Kate Foster's The Maiden is a remarkable story with a feminist revisionist twist, giving a voice to women otherwise silenced by history. Winner of the Bloody Scotland Pitch Perfect Award 2022 and the Bloody Scotland Crime Debut of the Year 2023.

'In the end, it did not matter what I said at my trial. No one believed me.'

Edinburgh, October 1679. Lady Christian is arrested and charged with the murder of her lover, James Forrester. News of her imprisonment and subsequent trial is splashed across the broadsides, with headlines that leave little room for doubt: Adulteress. Whore. Murderess.

Only a year before, Lady Christian was newly married, leading a life of privilege and respectability. So, what led her to risk everything for an affair? And does that make her guilty of murder? She wasn't the only woman in Forrester's life, and certainly not the only one who might have had cause to wish him dead.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 2928377246556
Number of pages: 384
Dimensions: 197 x 130 mm

You may also be interested in...

Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Tai-Pan
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Life and Fate
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Nights at the Circus
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Zone of Interest
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Captain Corelli's Mandolin
Added to basket

“Edinburgh-based historical fiction for fans of 'The Familiars' and 'The Wolf Den'.”

I was most incredibly excited on discovering this book, having grown up in Corstorphine and thus already being familiar with the legend of The White Lady upon whom the novel is based. My fondness for the setting and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 21
Dan - Clifton, Bristol.

“A Historical Fiction lover's must-read!”

Words can be worse than weapons.
They burn. Cut deep. Burrow under the skin. They can be damning.
Adulteress. Whore. Murderess.
The year is 1679, Edinburgh.
Lady Christian Nimmo stands accused of a crime most heinous;... More

Hardback edition
9 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 19

“Fabulous historical debut”

I love historical novels and this is a fabulous debut novel from Kate Foster. Based on true events, we follow the story of Lady Christian Nimmo in 1679 as she is accused of murdering her lover and uncle James... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: