The Magnificent Medills: America's Royal Family of Journalism During a Century of Turbulent Splendor (Hardback)
  • The Magnificent Medills: America's Royal Family of Journalism During a Century of Turbulent Splendor (Hardback)
zoom

The Magnificent Medills: America's Royal Family of Journalism During a Century of Turbulent Splendor (Hardback)

(author)
£17.99
Hardback 464 Pages / Published: 05/02/2012
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
"A knock-out dynastic history about the world of journalism. In The Magnificent Medills we learn how a single family forever changed Chicago and America. It's impossible to understand today's modern media world without reading this brilliant book. Highly recommended!" -Douglas Brinkley, author of The Quiet World

In the vein of Alan Brinkley's The Publisher: Henry Luce and His American Century and Katharine Graham's Personal History comes the first comprehensive chronicle of the Medill family-a riveting true story of the country's first media dynasty whose power and influence shaped the story of America for four generations.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780061782237
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 671 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"[An] immensely entertaining book. . . . McKinney vividly re-creates the city's no-holds-barred newspaper culture." -- Chicago Tribune
"Shifting smoothly from the life of one Medill, Patterson or McCormick to another, in the end she achieves a clear and comprehensive family biography, with all its complex interconnections." -- New York Times Book Review
"A solid account of this family." -- Washington Post
"Megan McKinney has written a knock-out dynastic history about the world of journalism. In The Magnificent Medills we learn how a single family forever changed Chicago and America. It's impossible to understand today's modern media world without reading this brilliant book. Highly recommended!" -- Douglas Brinkley, author of The Quiet World
"Megan McKinney's wonderfully researched, thoroughly engrossing, The Magnificent Medills, reveals Chicago's McCormick-Patterson family in all its dazzling brilliance and delicious eccentricity." -- David Garrard Lowe, author of Lost Chicago
"Compulsively readable. . . . With its backdrop of wealth and power, The Magnificent Medills reads almost like a rich historical novel. It just happens to be true." -- BookPage
"An intensely personal look at the Medill family. . . . Meticulously researched and detailed." -- Washington Independent Review of Books
"Chicago historian McKinney provides the first comprehensive chronicle of the Medill newspaper dynasty. . . . Deftly tell[ing] the tale of one of America's first families of business." -- Philanthropy Magazine Review
"Ink, booze and eccentricity flow through a newspaper dynasty's veins in this lively, gossipy clan bio. . . . Like her subjects, McKinney blends canny fact-finding, well-paced narrative and colorful detail into a compulsively readable confection." -- Publishers Weekly
"It is their brilliance in publishing newspapers when newspapers really mattered, combined with lives full of fault lines, that truly fascinates. . . . A solid account of the life and times of a family that was indeed magnficent." -- Kirkus Reviews
"This portrait of a storied newspaper dynasty packs a powerful punch. . . . Not only a compulsively readable collective biography but also an overview of the rapid evolution of the American newspaper industry during the late-nineteenth and early-twentieth centuries." -- Booklist

You may also be interested in...

The Shepherd's Life
Added to basket
What Happened
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Thomas Cromwell
Added to basket
£30.00   £25.00
Hardback
The Stepney Doorstep Society
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Billion Dollar Spy
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
First Light
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Stories for Boys Who Dare to be Different
Added to basket
Black Tudors
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Queen Victoria
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
First Man In
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
Good Night Stories For Rebel Girls 2
Added to basket
In My Life
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Homage to Catalonia
Added to basket
The Diary of a Young Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Spy and the Traitor
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Becoming
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.