• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
The Madagaskar Plan (Paperback)
  • The Madagaskar Plan (Paperback)
zoom

The Madagaskar Plan (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 544 Pages / Published: 28/01/2016
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A brilliant "what if" novel of the years after WW2 for fans of SS-GB and The Man in the High Castle.

1953. Britain and her Empire are diminished. Nazi Germany controls Europe and a vast African territory. There has been no Holocaust. Instead, the Jews have been exiled to Madagaskar, a tropical ghetto ruled by the SS.

Returning home after a disastrous mission to Africa, ex-mercenary Burton Cole finds his lover has disappeared. Desperate to discover her, he is drawn into a conspiracy that will lead him back to the Dark Continent.

Meanwhile Walter Hochburg, Nazi Governor of Kongo, has turned his attention to Madagaskar. Among the prisoners are scientists who could develop him a weapon of unimaginable power.

But Hochburg is not the only one interested in Madagaskar. The British plan to destroy its naval base to bring America into a war against the Reich. They have found the ideal man for the task: Reuben Salois, the only Jew to have escaped the ghetto. The only one brave, or foolhardy, enough to return.

These three men will converge on Madagaskar. The fate of the world is in their hands...

Drawing on the Nazis' original plans for the Jews, Guy Saville has meticulously imagined a world-that-nearly-was to tell an epic tale of love, revenge and survival.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781444710700
Number of pages: 544
Weight: 380 g
Dimensions: 198 x 131 x 35 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Saville doesn't sacrifice characterization for action or plot in his imaginative sequel to 2013's The Afrika Reich ... [his] attention to detail is manifest throughout * Publishers Weekly *
Sometimes it takes a stark and stunning reminder of what could have been to remind us how lucky we are. Truly the best book I have read this year so far. * Parmenion Books *
With terrifying plausibility, Saville imagines Madagascar as a melting pot of Nazi brutality, audacious conspiracies, desperate battles for life and simmering revolt. Add to this outstandingly visual prose, ingenious plotting and a cast of acutely observed characters, and you have the most daring, disturbing and compelling alternate history you will read this year. * Lancashire Evening Post *
Praise for The Afrika Reich * - *
Saville gives us an horrific reimagining of the Dark Continent * The Times *
[The] plot is clever, imaginative and, in its finale, wholly unexpected. In a crowded field, THE AFRIKA REICH stands out as a rich and unusual thriller, politically sophisticated and hard to forget * Economist *
Fatherland for an action movie age * Daily Telegraph *
A thoroughly enjoyable and compelling read * Sun *
This graphic, pacy alternate history thriller is scarily convincing * Australian *
An enthralling look at the horror that might have been if Germany was not defeated * Sydney Daily Telegraph *

You may also be interested in...

A Stranger in the House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Rooster Bar
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The President is Missing
Added to basket
£20.00   £12.99
Hardback
He Said/She Said
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Sleeping Beauties
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Munich
Added to basket
£8.99   £4.49
Paperback
Camino Island
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Manhattan Beach
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Outsider
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.