The Lumberjills: Stronger Together - The Lumberjills 1 (Paperback)
  • The Lumberjills: Stronger Together - The Lumberjills 1 (Paperback)
zoom

The Lumberjills: Stronger Together - The Lumberjills 1 (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 366 Pages
Published: 28/10/2022
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 10 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
A heartwarming WW2 saga of courage and friendship

When war breaks out, three spirited women must set aside their differences to help Britain win the war. Fighting from the forests, they find new depths of courage, strength and love. But - when war threatens everything - would you risk your life to save a friend?

When feisty, bohemian Keeva signs up for war work in the forest, she's already learnt the hard way that people can't be trusted. For Rosie, a factory girl from London's East End, the forest is an escape - but she can't stop her big mouth getting her into trouble. And Beatrice, a wealthy debutante, wants to use her brain, not ruin her fine hands felling trees. Meanwhile, Lady Denman, director of the Women's Land Army, battles with bureaucrats in Whitehall to defend the Lumberjills.

As these strong women struggle to survive in a tough men's world, it seems they really may succeed in their dangerous war work... when a terrible disaster strikes and threatens everything they have achieved.

The Lumberjills Stronger Together is inspired by the incredible and heroic true stories of the Women's Timber Corps, a branch of the Women's Land Army. Author Joanna Foat researched and interviewed sixty women who served as Lumberjills in World War II. These first-hand accounts, and her own passion for wild landscapes, bring a rugged authenticity to this emotionally rousing novel of female courage, strength and determination.

A World War II novel for fans of Rosie Archer, Suzanne Goldring, Nancy Revell and Jennifer Worth.

Publisher: Merrow Downs Press
ISBN: 9781915702050
Number of pages: 366
Weight: 295 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

What readers say about The Lumberjills Stronger Together; "A powerful story of hardship and friendship, based on the author's own original research. I was rooting for these girls to prove themselves on their challenging adventure." SUZANNE GOLDRING, author of My Name is Eva.

You may also be interested in...

Christmas with the Engine Girls
Added to basket
The English Führer
Added to basket
The Nightingale
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
When the Sky Falls
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Blitz Girls
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Mother's Boy
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Light Perpetual
Added to basket
The Passenger
Added to basket
Cilka's Journey
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Lock-Up
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Bournville
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Great Circle
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Three Sisters
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Last Hours in Paris
Added to basket
V2
Added to basket
V2
£9.99
Paperback
While the Storm Rages
Added to basket

“Women working in the Second World War in forestry - a novel”

This is a novel set in the Second World War which looks at some important themes which had a great impact of women. There are undoubtedly many books which look at groups of women brought together in the wartime... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“4.5 stars - women at their best!”

“The Lumberjills - Stronger Together” by Joanna Foat

I loved how the story was from the points of view of only the girls, alongside flashbacks to some of their lives back home, allowing the reader to learn how and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Great Historical Novel”

This is the first book I’ve read by Jo Foat, and I was very taken by the premise, as I had never heard of women lumberjacks (Jill’s) before.

I love that this book was forged from researching the real Lumberjills,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: