Find your perfect holiday reading
The Lost Time Accidents (Paperback)
  • The Lost Time Accidents (Paperback)
zoom

The Lost Time Accidents (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 512 Pages / Published: 02/03/2017
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
The Lost Time Accidents is a bold and epic saga set against the greatest upheavals of the twentieth century. Haunted by a failed love affair and the darkest of family secrets, Waldemar 'Waldy' Tolliver wakes one morning to discover that he has been exiled from the flow of time. The world continues to turn, and Waldy is desperate to find his way back. In his ambitious and fiercely inventive new novel, John Wray takes us from turn-of-the-century Viennese salons buzzing with rumours about Einstein's radical new theory to the death camps of the Second World War, from the golden age of post-war pulp science fiction to a startling discovery in a modern-day Manhattan apartment packed to the ceiling with artefacts of contemporary life.

Publisher: Canongate Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781847672322
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 338 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 30 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
A sprawling phantasmagoria which keeps us in delicious suspense . . . It's provocative, indulgent and fun . . . An imaginative and philosophical singularity of a novel * * Daily Herald * *
This is literature as high-wire act without the net; epic in scale, even bigger in heart -- Marlon James
Startlingly accomplished * * Daily Telegraph * *
A science fiction novel about time-travel, filled with unabashedly zany characters . . . a highly enjoyable book * * Sunday Times * *
John Wray gets his Calvino on, his Mitchell on, his Murakami on, and even his Joyce on in this spectacular rattlebag of a novel . . . Who says the novel is dead? Just smash the clocks and open this novel -- Colum McCann
With this darkly playful chronicle of three generations of crackpots and criminals, losers and visionaries, John Wray has written a book of eerie magic: Waldy Tolliver's love letter to the mysterious Mrs. Haven is a secret love letter to fiction itself. A mischievous epic, luminous and strange -- Kiran Desai
A big, enveloping story that's also tenderly wrought, The Lost Time Accidents whips through Viennese pastry shops, cluttered libraries, and the chambers of its narrator's sentimental heart * * Huffington Post * *
[A] sweeping historical novel that's also a love story but is rooted in time-travel science fiction and takes on as its subject the meaning of time itself. This is no small endeavor. It's hard not to admire this book, the mass and richness of which is a testament to the meticulous, dedicated work of its talented author * * Los Angeles Times * *
[A]n arresting mosaic of science fiction, history, and philosophy which proves Wray's remarkable malleability and talent * * Booklist (starred review) * *
John Wray is the next wave of American fiction -- Jonathan Lethem
America's most original young writer -- Gary Shteyngart * * author of Absurdistan * *
John Wray is a daring young writer -- James Wood * * New Yorker * *
One of our most astonishing and relevant young writers * * Esquire * *
Perfect for fans of David Mitchell and Jonathan Lethem . . . John Wray exceeds even the highest expectations in this ebulliently written, deeply intelligent take on the Great American Novel * * NetGalley * *

You may also be interested in...

The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Long Road to Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Unsheltered
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Labyrinth of the Spirits
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Sweet Sorrow
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Middle England
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Milkman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Inventive epic saga....”

I suppose that I can describe this novel as one long love letter to a lover, chronicling through three generations of criminals, inventors and losers. This is an incredibly inventive and original epic historical... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 40
KimG9

“At bit beyond me, I'm afraid”

It's not often that I shelve a book unfinished but, I am sad to report, I have given up on The Lost Time Accidents... at least for now, that is. The fault lies not with the book, as it is intelligent, cleverly... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.