The Lost Ones (Hardback)
  • The Lost Ones (Hardback)
zoom

The Lost Ones (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 464 Pages / Published: 31/10/2019
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 5 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Thoroughly chilling and crafted in the best tradition of Susan Hill’s The Woman in Black, The Lost Ones is an insidiously creepy gothic gem about an old house with plenty of skeletons in its closet. Brilliantly sustained suspense and an atmosphere of exquisite dread linger over the pages of Anita Frank’s superb debut.  

Some houses are never at peace.

England, 1917.

Reeling from the death of her fiance, Stella Marcham welcomes the opportunity to stay with her pregnant sister, Madeleine, at her imposing country mansion, Greyswick - but she arrives to discover a house of unease and her sister gripped by fear and suspicion.

Before long, strange incidents begin to trouble Stella - sobbing in the night, little footsteps on the stairs - and as events escalate, she finds herself drawn to the tragic history of the house.

Aided by a wounded war veteran, Stella sets about uncovering Greyswick's dark and terrible secrets - secrets the dead whisper from the other side...

In the classic tradition of The Woman in Black, Anita Frank weaves a spell-binding debut of family tragedy, loss and redemption.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008341220
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 560 g
Dimensions: 240 x 159 x 39 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for The Lost Ones:

'A gothic gem of intrigue and atmosphere' Historical Writers' Association Debut Crown Judges

'Supernatural and historical intertwine in Anita Frank's unsettling first novel ... reminiscent of other tales of the supernatural, but conveys its own frissons and shocks'
Sunday Times

'With wonderful character ... This is a brilliantly gothic adventure - and the perfect winter page-turner' Sunday Mirror

'A spine-tingling debut from Anita Frank is part ghost story, part murder mystery, and the perfect chilling read as the nights turn colder and longer' OK!

'I loved it SO MUCH - so creepy and compelling, full of atmosphere and gave me goosebumps...' Lisa Hall

'If you liked A Woman in Black, you'll love this utterly gripping and atmospheric book' Woman & Home

'Haunting, emotional and exquisitely written' Amanda Jennings

'For fans of Henry James and Susan Hill, this chilling supernatural mystery is written in the classic mould. Intriguing, moving and assured' Essie Fox

'My coffee is stone cold. My palms are sweaty. I've raced to the shocking final twist of this lush, beautifully written historical novel. A gripping ghost story with an achingly poignant family mystery at its heart' Samantha King

'The perfect read for dark, chilly winter evenings ... This beautifully written gothic tale interlaces history, intrigue and atmosphere, and offers a fresh take on the classic ghost story tradition' Jane Bettany, Big Issue North

'Will send shivers down your spine ... An eerie, emotionally supernatural tale' Sunday Express

'Dark and devilish' Sunday Post

'A spine-tingling gothic tale of family tragedy, loss and redemption' My Weekly

'Anita Frank's fiendishly devised plot springs a succession of shocks and revelations that keep you gripped until the final page' Noel O'Reilly

You may also be interested in...

Empire of the Vampire
Added to basket
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Machines Like Me
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
Added to basket
The Lost Future of Pepperharrow
Added to basket
Pine
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Ready Player Two
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Starless Sea
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Maker's Curse
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
The Archive of the Forgotten
Added to basket
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Witherward
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Court of Miracles
Added to basket
Tabu

“Part ghost story, part detective thriller and an utterly compelling read.”

Thank you to Harlequin Books for a review copy.
The Lost Ones is part ghost story and part detective thriller set during the dark days of World War I. The heroine is Stella Marcham and she tells the story in the first... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 25

“Excellent Ghost Story”

An intriguing ghost story with all the necessary elements to keep you up at night.Creepy house, stairs creaking, doors opening by themselves and crying in the night when no one is there. All the ingredients to... More

Hardback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 24

“A Wonderful Ghost Story”

This is a wonderful chilling thriller set in England in 1917,Stella is grief stricken after loosing her fiance during WW1 ,she is struggling to cope and her pregnant sister Madeline is also struggling so her husband... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.