Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Free Delivery to UK Shops
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Free Delivery to UK Shops Local shops and expert booksellers nationwide Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
The Lost Ones (Hardback)
  • The Lost Ones (Hardback)
zoom

The Lost Ones (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 464 Pages / Published: 31/10/2019
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Thoroughly chilling and crafted in the best tradition of Susan Hill’s The Woman in Black, The Lost Ones is an insidiously creepy gothic gem about an old house with plenty of skeletons in its closet. Brilliantly sustained suspense and an atmosphere of exquisite dread linger over the pages of Anita Frank’s superb debut.  

Some houses are never at peace.

England, 1917.

Reeling from the death of her fiance, Stella Marcham welcomes the opportunity to stay with her pregnant sister, Madeleine, at her imposing country mansion, Greyswick - but she arrives to discover a house of unease and her sister gripped by fear and suspicion.

Before long, strange incidents begin to trouble Stella - sobbing in the night, little footsteps on the stairs - and as events escalate, she finds herself drawn to the tragic history of the house.

Aided by a wounded war veteran, Stella sets about uncovering Greyswick's dark and terrible secrets - secrets the dead whisper from the other side...

In the classic tradition of The Woman in Black, Anita Frank weaves a spell-binding debut of family tragedy, loss and redemption.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008341220
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 560 g
Dimensions: 240 x 159 x 39 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for The Lost Ones

'Supernatural and historical intertwine in Anita Frank's unsettling first novel... reminiscent of other tales of the supernatural, but conveys its own frissons and shocks.'
Sunday Times

'Haunting, emotional and exquisitely written' Amanda Jennings

'For fans of Henry James and Susan Hill, this chilling supernatural mystery is written in the classic mould. Intriguing, moving and assured' Essie Fox

'I loved it SO MUCH - so creepy and compelling, full of atmosphere and gave me goosebumps...' Lisa Hall

'If you liked A Woman in Black, you'll love this utterly gripping and atmospheric book' WOMAN&HOME

'My coffee is stone cold. My palms are sweaty. I've raced to the shocking final twist of this lush, beautifully written historical novel. A gripping ghost story with an achingly poignant family mystery at its heart' Samantha King

'An assured debut novel combining two well-loved literary genres set in country houses: the haunted house and the Agatha Christie-style whodunnit. Anita Frank's fiendishly devised plot springs a succession of shocks and revelations that keep you gripped until the final page' Noel O'Reilly

'Will send shivers down your spine ... An eerie, emotionally supernatural tale.' Sunday Express

'A spine-tingling debut from Anita Frank is part ghost story, part murder mystery, and the perfect chilling read as the nights turn colder and longer.' OK!

'A spine-tingling gothic tale of family tragedy, loss and redemption.' My Weekly

'Dark and devilish' Sunday Post

'Spellbinding, elegantly written, immaculately plotted, and delivering a shocking twist in its ghostly tale, this is gothic with a wise and wistful heart.' Lancashire Evening Post

Christmas Shopping Evening

Christmas Shopping Evening

Reading - Broad Street
Thursday 21st November 18:00 - 20:00

Beat the rush and enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of our Christmas Shopping Evening with festive drinks, nibbles, book signings, games demos, live music and gift wrapping. With our fantastic selection of books, games, toys, stationery and quirky gifts we've got something for everyone, so we look forward to seeing you there!

View

You may also be interested in...

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
£32.00   £27.99
Hardback
The Last
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
I Am C-3PO - The Inside Story
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Star Wars: Resistance Reborn
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Dracul
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Testaments
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Starless Sea
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Shining
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
In the Time We Lost
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
The Outsider
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In the Time We Lost
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Doctor Sleep
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket

“A Wonderful Ghost Story”

This is a wonderful chilling thriller set in England in 1917,Stella is grief stricken after loosing her fiance during WW1 ,she is struggling to cope and her pregnant sister Madeline is also struggling so her husband... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6
Tabu

“Part ghost story, part detective thriller and an utterly compelling read.”

Thank you to Harlequin Books for a review copy.
The Lost Ones is part ghost story and part detective thriller set during the dark days of World War I. The heroine is Stella Marcham and she tells the story in the first... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

“Excellent Ghost Story”

An intriguing ghost story with all the necessary elements to keep you up at night.Creepy house, stairs creaking, doors opening by themselves and crying in the night when no one is there. All the ingredients to... More

Hardback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.