The Lost Girl: A captivating tale of mystery and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies (Paperback)
  • The Lost Girl: A captivating tale of mystery and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies (Paperback)
zoom

The Lost Girl: A captivating tale of mystery and intrigue. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99 £6.49
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 08/03/2018
  • Save £1.50
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A story to savour, complete with wonderful settings stretching from Paris to the glorious countryside of southern France' Dinah Jefferies

A LOVEREADING BOOK OF THE YEAR

Since her teenage daughter went missing four years ago, Kurtiz Ross has blamed and isolated herself. Until, out of the blue, Lizzie is sighted in Paris.

But within hours of her arrival, Kurtiz sees the City of Light plunged into terror.

Amid the fear and chaos, a hand reaches out. A sympathetic stranger offers to help a terrified mother find her daughter.

The other woman's kindness - and her stories of her own love and loss in post-war Provence - shine unexpected light into the shadows.

The night may hold the answers to a mystery - but dare Kurtiz believe it could also bring a miracle?

'A gripping tale' Sunday Post

'Mesmerising, haunting and extraordinarily relevant' Lovereading

'An unforgettable journey of family, romance, regret and renewal' The Gloss

'The perfect holiday read that manages to keep you guessing the whole way through' Living France

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780718183110
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 298 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Ranging across time periods this is a story to savour, complete with wonderful settings stretching from Paris to the occupied territory of the West Bank, and to the glorious countryside of southern France and La Cote d'Azur. Most of all I enjoyed the descriptions of France, particularly the 'wild heady scents', the sloping vineyards and the olive groves of the south. I felt I was breathing the fragrant air and eating dinner beneath the stars -- Dinah Jefferies * Number One Sunday Times bestselling author of The Tea Planter's Wife *
The perfect holiday read that manages to keep you guessing the whole way through * Living France *
An unforgettable journey of family, romance, regret and renewal * The Gloss *
Carol Drinkwater is a great and compassionate writer -- Danuta Kean * Guardian *
Mesmerising, haunting and extraordinarily relevant * Lovereading *
A gripping tale * Sunday Post *
An emotional tale of loss and kindness * French Property News *
The Lost Girl is a story of love and loss, of sadness and great joy . . . Through a cast of frequently complex but immensely likeable characters, the author takes us on a journey - across five generations - that challenge a wide range of political, social and moral mores. Ultimately, The Lost Girl offers a message of hope and regeneration, in addition to the timely reminder that it is often darkest before the dawn * The Middle East *
A brilliantly told story set against that dreadful night. The characters are superbly written . . . I couldn't put it down * NetGalley Reviewer *
A great book, one you become immersed in, highly recommended * NetGalley Reviewer *
Great read and easy to follow, look forward to reading more * NetGalley Reviewer *
Superb book . . . two different eras that tie in beautifully . . . I couldn't put the book down * NetGalley Reviewer *
Praise for The Forgotten Summer * - *
Secrets, tragedy, hidden pasts and family secrets all set in glorious Provence - I loved this -- Santa Montefiore
A lovely book packed with the sunshine, scents and savours of the South of France. Plenty of page-turning drama but also mouthwatering descriptions of Paris and Provence. Enough to make you rush straight to the Eurostar * Daily Mail *
This atmospheric read will whisk you straight to the South of France as you become immersed in the tale of secrets and heartbreak * Marie Claire *
Gripping * Candis *
I loved this book. I kept snatching a few more pages whenever I could. It has left me wanting to head to warmer climes and take part in the grape and olive harvests. Well I can dream can't I? * Mumsnet *

You may also be interested in...

To Die But Once
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Last Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Tombland
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Pandora's Boy
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Dark Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Way of All Flesh
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Long Drop
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Mitford Murders
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Bright Young Dead
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Christmas Railway Mystery
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sovereign
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Outcasts of Time
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Ghost Tree
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
A Necessary Evil
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Wonderfully Descriptive”

Kurtiz Ross, a renowned war photographer and her estranged husband Oliver travel to Paris following sightings of their daughter Lizzie who went missing 4 years ago. Kurtiz hopes and prays that they will be reunited... More

Hardback edition
25th March 2017
Helpful? Upvote 52

“Well-crafted, extensively researched, beautifully written, and full of raw emotion. Wonderful!”

I have been a fan of Carol Drinkwater's work since I first heard her speak at The France Show in 2015 and I absolutely adored The Forgotten Summer, when it came out last year (read my review here). So, when I... More

Hardback edition
24th September 2017
Helpful? Upvote 8
Bookread2day

“An emotional read but I loved every page”

The Lost Girl is the most emotional story that I have ever read by Carol Drinkwater. The scenes have been described so well that I had tears in my eyes. The storyline is based on the unfolding of the November 2015... More

Hardback edition
14th September 2017
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.