The Lost Chapter (Paperback)
  • The Lost Chapter (Paperback)
zoom

The Lost Chapter (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 03/02/2022
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The sparkling new novel from Caroline Bishop, author of The Other Daughter. Perfect for fans of Tracy Rees, Elizabeth Noble and Rachel Hore.  

*****************
1957, France. 
*****************

Florence and Lilli meet at finishing school in Lyon. Despite some differences, they forge a firm friendship that promises to last a lifetime. But a terrible betrayal prematurely tears them apart.
 
Years later in England, Florence has become the woman her friend knew she could be – creative, bold, and independent. The exact opposite of Alice, a young woman troubled by a recent trauma, whom Florence is determined to help bring out of her shell. Just as Lilli once did for her.
 
When Florence discovers that the novel she’s reading is written by Lilli and is based on their time at school, the two stories begin to unfold together. Past events illuminate the future, and it becomes clear that long-held secrets can't stay buried for ever.

Praise for The Lost Chapter

'Caroline Bishop is a wonderful storyteller, crafting characters who step off the page and writing beautifully of female friendship. This is a kind, wise and inspiring novel and its conclusion left me smiling.' Caroline Scott, author of The Photographer of the Lost 

'One of those stories that take you over, beautifully & touchingly told. Brilliant characters. Uplifting & hopeful - a real tonic' Tracy Rees, author of The Rose Garden 

'Beautifully drawn characters and a story so intriguing it kept me one-more-chaptering till  late into the night.' Frances Quinn, author of The Smallest Man 

Praise for Caroline Bishop

‘A fresh, original, passionate and page-turning story about women’s choices and past secrets that demands to be read’ Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child

'Fascinating and fast-paced, The Other Daughter had me hooked from the start. A timely reminder of how hard it is to succeed in a man's world’ Rosanna Ley, author of From Venice with Love

'Well written and pacy. Full of gorgeous scenery, emotion and SUCH fascinating stuff about women's rights through the decades' Tracy Rees, author of The House at Silvermoor

'A tightly plotted and absorbing tale of one woman's journey to uncover the secrets of her birth. It beautifully fuses the personal and the political in its exploration of motherhood and women's rights, as Jess tries to reconcile herself to her own choices, and the choices made by those who came before her' Beth Morrey, author of Saving Missy

‘A gripping and emotional story’ Patricia Wilson, author of Greek Island Escape

‘I couldn’t put it down. I felt totally drawn into the story and invested in the characters’ Caroline Scott, author of The Photographer of the Lost

‘A fascinating and beautifully told exploration of women’s rights and one woman’s fight to uncover the secrets of her birth. The Other Daughter is a stunning debut I loved it' Clare Empson, author of Mine

'A heart-warming, beautifully crafted story about friendships and forgiveness, and the importance of believing in one’s self even when it feels impossible. A poignant reminder that it is never too late to make things right with those you love, and with yourself.' Genevieve Graham,author of The Forgotten Home Child
 

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471190070
Number of pages: 384
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 23 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Long Island
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Welcome to the Hyunam-dong Bookshop
Added to basket
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Seventh Son
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Tom Lake
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
Brotherless Night
Added to basket
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
More Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Added to basket

“An Intriguing Read”

1957, France: Florence and Lilli met at finishing school in Lyon. Despite some differences, they forge a firm friendship that promises to last a lifetime. But a terrible betrayal tears them apart. Years later in... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“An unusual book of new starts”

This is quite a complex book in some respects. Part of the story, alternate chapters, is a semi - autobiographical novel featuring “Lenny” and her friend “Fran” who are at a French finishing school in 1957. The other... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“A lovely story about friendship and life.”

This story of friendship and living your best life is an absorbing read. Florence and Lilli shared a brief, but life-changing friendship, in 1950s France. Lilli's publication of a book prompts Florence to try and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: