Ts&Cs
apply
The Lost Apothecary (Hardback)
  • The Lost Apothecary (Hardback)
zoom

The Lost Apothecary (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 268 Pages / Published: 02/03/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

With crackling suspense, unforgettable characters and searing insight, The Lost Apothecary is a subversive and intoxicating debut novel of secrets, vengeance and the remarkable ways women can save each other despite the barrier of time.

Hidden in the depths of eighteenth-century London, a secret apothecary shop caters to an unusual kind of clientele. Women across the city whisper of a mysterious figure named Nella who sells well-disguised poisons to use against the oppressive men in their lives. But the apothecary’s fate is jeopardized when her newest patron, a precocious twelve-year-old, makes a fatal mistake, sparking a string of consequences that echo through the centuries.

Meanwhile in present-day London, aspiring historian Caroline Parcewell spends her tenth wedding anniversary alone, running from her own demons. When she stumbles upon a clue to the unsolved apothecary murders that haunted London two hundred years ago, her life collides with the apothecary’s in a stunning twist of fate―and not everyone will survive.

Publisher: Legend Press Ltd
ISBN: 9781789558975
Number of pages: 268
Weight: 500 g
Dimensions: 216 x 135 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A bold, edgy, accomplished debut!' - Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author

You may also be interested in...

It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Girl A
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Never
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Go Tell the Bees that I Am Gone
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback

“For fans of Possession or Kate Mosse”

With echoes of "Possession" by AS Byatt or a Kate Mosse book, this story, "The Lost Apothecary" by Sarah Penner, should be of interest to those who enjoy books about London and history. In popular... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Intriguing”

A wonderfully and appealing written book about a hidden apothecary which dispenses poisons to kill only men. Told in the present day by Caroline and in 1791 by Nella an Eliza it weaves a tale of hidden lanes and dark... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6
Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader

“A captivating historical novel”

The Lost Apothecary by Sarah Penner is a dual-timeline novel told from the point-of-view of three women. I found this to be an engaging historical novel. I was transported back to London in 1791 where Nella has a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.