Some orders may be delayed by the current Coronavirus lockdown.
Visit our help page for further information.
The Long Call - Two Rivers (Paperback)
  • The Long Call - Two Rivers (Paperback)
zoom

The Long Call - Two Rivers (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99 £6.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 20/02/2020
  • Save £2.00
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket

The Long Call is the No.1 bestselling first novel in the Two Rivers series from Sunday Times bestseller and creator of Vera and Shetland, Ann Cleeves.

In North Devon, where the rivers Taw and Torridge converge and run into the sea, Detective Matthew Venn stands outside the church as his father's funeral takes place. The day Matthew turned his back on the strict evangelical community in which he grew up, he lost his family too.

Now he's back, not just to mourn his father at a distance, but to take charge of his first major case in the Two Rivers region; a complex place not quite as idyllic as tourists suppose.

A body has been found on the beach near to Matthew's new home: a man with the tattoo of an albatross on his neck, stabbed to death.

Finding the killer is Venn's only focus, and his team's investigation will take him straight back into the community he left behind, and the deadly secrets that lurk there.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781509889600
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 286 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
As a huge fan of both the Shetland and Vera series of books, I had high expectations for Cleeves' latest. She easily exceeded those expectations with The Long Call. Matthew Venn is a keeper. A stunning debut for Cleeves' latest crimefighter -- David Baldacci
Had me hooked - a promising beginning to another fine chapter in the Ann Cleeves story * The Times *
Clever, compassionate and atmospheric, with a great cast of new characters to love. I am already a Matthew Venn fan -- Elly Griffiths
A triumph that cements Cleeves' status as one of Britain's best crime writers * Daily Express *
Brilliant, thoughtful and deeply engaging -- Sara Paretsky, New York Times bestselling author of the V.I. Warshawski series
Brilliant - a page-turning and sensitively told tale, with a vividly evoked North Devon setting, a powerful emotional heft and a new detective hero in Matthew Venn who you will want to follow for book after book. Wonderful! -- Chris Ewan, bestselling author of Safe House
Ann Cleeves' new series gets off to a terrific start with The Long Call - her native Devon is wonderfully evoked, and Matthew Venn is a very appealing new detective. Another sure-fire hit -- Martin Edwards, author of Gallows Court
Cleeves combines a flair for evoking sense of place with a thoughtful, complex plot * Mail on Sunday *
The troubled Venn is a great protagonist, and Cleeves may well have created her next top TV cop * Heat *
A traditional mystery of the best sort * Guardian *
Unputdownable series debut! With an evocative setting, a gripping plot, and beautifully drawn characters, The Long Call is a terrific read-and Matthew Venn is my new favorite detective -- Deborah Crombie, New York Times bestselling author of Garden of Lamentations
Who knew there could be a third detective as compelling as Vera and Jimmy? Matthew Venn is a triumph of Cleeves' particular blend of compassion and toughness and I already love him -- Catriona McPherson, national bestselling author of Strangers at the Gate
Ann Cleeves has done it again! A new detective, a new series, another terrific puzzle of a story that won't let you go until the very end. Matthew Venn quickly earns his place beside Vera and Jimmy in a debut you don't want to miss: The Long Call -- Charles Todd, bestselling author of The Black Ascot
In The Long Call, Ann Cleeves builds a prism of a world, multi-faceted, complex, and as brilliant as a diamond. Fans of Vera and Jimmy will love Matthew Venn -- Lori Rader-Day
Ann Cleeves is a phenomenal talent. With unfailing skill, gorgeous setting, flawless plot and seamless voice, she brilliantly conjures new worlds in crime fiction. Her instantly iconic Detective Matthew Venn is a treasure-and we will all follow him anywhere -- Hank Phillippi Ryan
Cleeves writes of the left-behind and the unfortunate with intelligence and compassion * Literary Review *
Murder, mystery and a great new cast of characters mean you won't be able to put this one down! * My Weekly *
Hauntingly written, it evokes every possible emotion with Ann's gripping narrative * Woman *
Evocative and gripping - an absolute triumph * Daily Mirror *

You may also be interested in...

One Good Deed
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The King's Evil
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Their Little Secret
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Hunting Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Big Sky
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Blood & Sugar
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Doll Factory
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Perfect Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
If It Bleeds
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
You'll Never See Me Again
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
All That's Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
No One Home
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Silent Death
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Atmospheric, character driven start to a new series”

The long call is a term used to describe the cry of the herring gull although to main character DI Matthew Venn, it always sounds more like someone howling in pain. This observation gives you immediate insight into... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 35

“Fabulously drawn new characters in a complex and well-plotted police procedural”

A brand new series from Ann Cleeves is something not to be missed and I dived into The Long Call with eagerness. This is the Two Rivers series, so called because the books are set in North Devon between the Taw and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 31

“Compulsive reading”

I have been a fan of Ann cleve's crime fiction for many years and I believe she gets better and better. This novel was devoured in about 4 hours. I couldn't stop reading until the end. Although there are... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.