The Long Call - Two Rivers (Hardback)
  • The Long Call - Two Rivers (Hardback)
zoom

The Long Call - Two Rivers (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 05/09/2019
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

The first in a new Devon-set crime series from the accomplished creator of the Shetland and Vera novels, The Long Call sees a troubled detective returning to the community he turned his back on. Plotted with Cleeves’ customary deft skill and introducing a complex, flawed new protagonist, The Long Call bodes very well for this fresh mystery series.

The Long Call is the captivating first novel in the Two Rivers series from Sunday Times bestseller and creator of Vera and Shetland, Ann Cleeves.

In North Devon, where the rivers Taw and Torridge converge and run into the sea, Detective Matthew Venn stands outside the church as his father's funeral takes place. The day Matthew turned his back on the strict evangelical community in which he grew up, he lost his family too.

Now he's back, not just to mourn his father at a distance, but to take charge of his first major case in the Two Rivers region; a complex place not quite as idyllic as tourists suppose.

A body has been found on the beach near to Matthew's new home: a man with the tattoo of an albatross on his neck, stabbed to death.

Finding the killer is Venn's only focus, and his team's investigation will take him straight back into the community he left behind, and the deadly secrets that lurk there.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781509889563
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 640 g
Dimensions: 242 x 163 x 38 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'As a huge fan of both the Shetland and Vera series of books, I had high expectations for Cleeves' latest. She easily exceeded those expectations with The Long Call. Matthew Venn is a keeper. A stunning debut for Cleeves' latest crimefighter.' - David Baldacci

'Had me hooked - a promising beginning to another fine chapter in the Ann Cleeves story.' - The Times

'Clever, compassionate and atmospheric, with a great cast of new characters to love. I am already a Matthew Venn fan.' - Elly Griffiths

'Ann Cleeves' new series gets off to a terrific start with The Long Call - her native Devon is wonderfully evoked, and Matthew Venn is a very appealing new detective. Another sure-fire hit.' - Martin Edwards, author of Gallows Court

'Brilliant - a page-turning and sensitively told tale, with a vividly evoked North Devon setting, a powerful emotional heft and a new detective hero in Matthew Venn who you will want to follow for book after book. Wonderful!' - Chris Ewan, bestselling author of Safe House

'Unputdownable series debut! With an evocative setting, a gripping plot, and beautifully drawn characters, The Long Call is a terrific read-and Matthew Venn is my new favorite detective.' - Deborah Crombie, New York Times bestselling author of Garden of Lamentations

'Who knew there could be a third detective as compelling as Vera and Jimmy? Matthew Venn is a triumph of Cleeves' particular blend of compassion and toughness and I already love him.' - Catriona McPherson, national bestselling author of Strangers at the Gate

'Brilliant, thoughtful and deeply engaging.' - Sara Paretsky, New York Times bestselling author of the V.I. Warshawski series

'Ann Cleeves has done it again! A new detective, a new series, another terrific puzzle of a story that won't let you go until the very end. Matthew Venn quickly earns his place beside Vera and Jimmy in a debut you don't want to miss: The Long Call.' - Charles Todd, bestselling author of The Black Ascot

'In The Long Call, Ann Cleeves builds a prism of a world, multi-faceted, complex, and as brilliant as a diamond. Fans of Vera and Jimmy will love Matthew Venn.' - Lori Rader-Day

'Ann Cleeves is a phenomenal talent. With unfailing skill, gorgeous setting, flawless plot and seamless voice, she brilliantly conjures new worlds in crime fiction. Her instantly iconic Detective Matthew Venn is a treasure - and we will all follow him anywhere.' - Hank Phillippi Ryan

You may also be interested in...

The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
1979
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Black Drop
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Not a Happy Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night She Disappeared
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Over My Dead Body
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Heron's Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Line to Kill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Maidens
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Greenwich Park
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Fabulously drawn new characters in a complex and well-plotted police procedural”

A brand new series from Ann Cleeves is something not to be missed and I dived into The Long Call with eagerness. This is the Two Rivers series, so called because the books are set in North Devon between the Taw and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 72

“Compulsive reading”

I have been a fan of Ann cleve's crime fiction for many years and I believe she gets better and better. This novel was devoured in about 4 hours. I couldn't stop reading until the end. Although there are... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 67

“Atmospheric, character driven start to a new series”

The long call is a term used to describe the cry of the herring gull although to main character DI Matthew Venn, it always sounds more like someone howling in pain. This observation gives you immediate insight into... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 59

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.