The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir (Paperback)
  • The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir (Paperback)
zoom

The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 03/11/2016
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A charming and uplifting story, perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove or Jonas Jonasson. 'If you're a bit of a weirdo you will love Biddy Weir' - Ian Sansom, bestselling author of The Norfolk Mystery Biddy Weir is a quirky girl. Abandoned by her mother as a baby, and with a father who's not quite equipped for the challenges of modern parenting, Biddy lives in her own little world, happy to pass her time painting by the sea and watching the birds go by. That is, until she meets Alison Flemming. Because there are a few things about Biddy that aren't normal, you see. And Alison isn't afraid to point them out to the world. All of a sudden, Biddy's quiet life is thrown into turmoil. If only there was someone to convince her that, actually, everyone's a little bit weird . . . A story of abuse and survival, of falling down and of starting again, and of one woman's battle to learn to love herself for who she is, The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir is Lesley Allen's startlingly honest debut novel. PRAISE FOR THE LONELY LIFE OF BIDDY WEIR "A wonderful debut: poignant, powerful and moving, with ripples of dark humour." Colin Bateman "I'm a little bit in love with Biddy Weir. In her, Lesley Allen has created a character who is the embodiment of all our adolescent insecurities" Bernie McGill, author of The Butterfly Cabinet "In Biddy Weir, Lesley Allen has created one of those characters that gets under your skin and won't leave . . . A must-read for anyone who has ever wondered about life and where we fit in" Doreen Finn, author ofMy Buried Life "One of my favourite reads this year . . . raw, real and authentic . . . You will be enthralled" Bibliomaniac "Truly uplifting . . . I can not believe this is Lesley Allen's debut novel" Steph and Chris's Book Review

Publisher: twenty7
ISBN: 9781785770388
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 284 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
I can't describe effectively how heart-warming this book is. I really don't want to spoil this book; it's such a lovely read, so will say no more about the plot and just urge you to download it and read it right away. * Trexes and Tiaras Book Blog *
I am reluctant to say anything that isn't exceptionally effusive about this book...You will be enthralled. It is a captivating read and Allen's prose is impressive. This is her debut and I can't wait to read more of her writing - she is clearly talented and full of imagination and talent * Bibliomaniac UK Book Blog *
There's an innocence to Biddy, that I think is what makes this book special and not just another book about bullying. She goes about her life, believing what other people think of her. I've never seen a character quite like her. This is a truly beautiful book * The Whispering of Pages Book Blog *
In your life, you always hope to come across books that leave an indelible mark on you. The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir is such a book...I truly and very strongly believe that this novel should be mandatory in every post-primary educational system....everywhere. If there was a 6* rating I would give it * Swirl and Thread Book Blog *
Allen uses the frame of a daytime-TV chatshow to provide Biddy with a platform to tell her own story, after years of self-hatred, self-harm and a suicide attempt. If the reader fears that Biddy is about to subject herself to the savage appetite of reality TV, Allen adds a sudden twist that ensures that Biddy gets both revenge and justice for everything that she has suffered * The Irish Times *
The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir is a beautiful story with many different layers. It's a thought-provoking novel. It's honest and raw and there's no sugarcoating, what happens to Biddy is something that easily could have happened in real life. I hope all 'Biddies' in the world will meet someone good who makes them find their true value again. I think The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir is an absolute must-read and I highly recommend this brilliant book * With Love for Books *
This is an excellent book, a very poignant and uncomfortable at times but very worthy of your interest. I recommend it wholeheartedly * The Addiction of Books *
*I loved this book, even though I hated the subject matter (...)This was a very brave novel to write, its not a standard (...) For a first novel, I think it is outstanding. I am delighted that Biddy found Lesley * The Boozy Bookworm *
This book was so well written (...) Not just a book about bullying, this is a roller-coaster emotional read which left me wrung out and in need of a new box of tissues * Rosie Amber Book Reviews *
I urge everyone to read this book...mostly it will leave you wanting to be that little bit nicer to people. It will make you want to hug your children and teach them about friendship and love. I was sobbing as I turned the last page in this book. Life was difficult for poor Biddy Weir but I am all the better for knowing her. Thank you Lesley Allen! This book is one of my favourite reads of 2016 and I highly recommend it * Brook Cottage Books *
Haunting, heartbreakingly poignant, and exceptionally thought-provoking (...) It was a real pleasure and honour to read * Whats Better Than Books *
What I didn't realise was how beautifully and powerfully written this book would be. An emotional, powerful and beautifully written book about life, re-birth, bullying and learning how to love yourself, quirks and all * The Writing Garnet *
It is not often that I read a novel, and the character continues to live with me, but Biddy Weir did. For a first novel, I think it is outstanding. I am delighted that Biddy found Lesley * The Boozy Bookworm *
Deeply sad. Matter-of-fact. Illuminating.a deeply affecting tale of a life brutally and permanently scarred by bullying. It's ultimately beautiful and even uplifting. Recommended * Buried Under Books *
The relationship she has with her therapist Terri is lovely and I am glad she manages to bring Biddy out of her shell. A beautifully poignant cover * Echoes in an Empty Room *
Although I have read so many wonderful books this year, the one I only finished last week was by a local author Lesley Allen. Her book The Lonely Life of Biddy Weir is an amazing and heart wrenching story of bullying and the effects it can have. It made me cry! -- Rachel Dove * Brook Cottage Books *
This is a painfully excellent story of a young child who loses here family and it's made obvious nobody wants her. If you haven't read this yet I urge you do! If you are a teacher or teaching assistant read it please! This book has grabbed me right in the pit of my stomach, really guttural some points I knew how she felt. This is my number 2 book for 2016. 5* from me * Laura Prime Book Blog *
Highly impressive debut novel, a story of emotional abuse and survival * The Irish News *
To say this story broke my heart would be an understatement, it quite literally tore me in two at the sadness of one character... A tragic and sad tale from the beginning...a beautifully written story about the loneliness of isolation and bullying. Tackling the harsh issue of abuse and fitting into society, this charming and poignant book makes for bittersweet reading and with an unexpected twist that shocks the reader at the end, this is most definitely a debut that will stick out in my mind * Handwritten Girl *

You may also be interested in...

In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Book of Life
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Anatomy of a Scandal
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An Unsuitable Match
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Milkman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Crazy Rich Asians
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Discovery of Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Sixteen Trees of the Somme
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Weird can be wonderful”

Biddy Weir is a rather solitary child. Her mother left when she was just a baby so she was raised by her father, a middle-aged man who was himself at the mercy of his own rather overbearing mother. She is dressed... More

Paperback edition
6th December 2016
Helpful? Upvote 5

“Cannot recommend enough!”

I absolutely LOVED this book. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it stirred up real emotions and was highly relatable. I finished it months ago (it only took me a couple of days to read) and I still think about it on a... More

Paperback edition
3rd February 2018
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.