The Little Paris Bookshop (Paperback)
  • The Little Paris Bookshop (Paperback)
zoom

The Little Paris Bookshop (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 31/12/2015
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Beautifully judged and as comforting as the warmest embrace, George’s story of a bookseller-cum-counsellor who prescribes literature to lift the soul is a tender, touching treat.   

A Waterstones Book Club Choice for 2016

Dancing shadows on the wall, one of them tall, the other strikingly beautiful. There had been love in this room.
Now there's only me.

A somewhat lost soul presides over a floating ‘literary apothecary’ on the Seine, a man masking the pain in his own heart by prescribing the appropriate volume to heal the wounds of others. A revelation from the past prompts him to up-anchor and begin a singular journey of discovery toward a resolution that is genuinely life-affirming.

Books about books can so often run toward the twee, but George’s skill renders this tale as a sweeping, grand romance. With a cast of winsome, slightly-fractured companions - the bookseller Jean Perdu; the enigmatic Catherine, the woman who unlocks his past; and Max Jordan, the blocked, suffering author who accomapnies him on his quest - The Little Paris Bookshop is a pitch-perfect, bittersweet tale that effortlessly repeated the bestselling success of its release in Nina George's native Germany in the UK.

"Glowing . . . a classic voyage and return narrative, layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books . . . I prescribed it for a cynical friend who has "seen it all" (and read it all) and she swooned." - The Daily Mail

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349140377
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 304 g
Dimensions: 130 x 199 x 26 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
This charming tale is already a bestseller in Germany. On a beautifully restored barge on the Seine, Jean Perdu runs a bookshop - or as he calls it, 'a literary apothecary', because the owner knows how to use books like medicine. The only person he is unable to cure - of heartache - is himself. For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Amelie * Red *
As . . . the little floating bookshop sets off for Provence, George uses a heady cocktail of literature and more sensual pleasures to create a wonderfully offbeat romance * Mail on Sunday *
Glowing . . . a classic voyage and return narrative, layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books . . . I prescribed it for a cynical friend who has "seen it all" (and read it all) and she swooned * Daily Mail *
A captivating curiosity, for those who still believe in love and books, friendship and food, happiness and romance * Saga *
A capricious, meandering journey of love, loss and wonderful food, so beautifully described. I enjoyed every moment * Carole Matthews, bestselling author of The Cake Shop in the Garden *
If you're looking to be charmed right out of your own life for a few hours, sit down with this wise and winsome novel...Everything happens just as you want it to... from poignant moments to crystalline insights in exactly the right measure * oprah.com *
An enchanting, uplifting read . . . the sort of book that acts as a soothing tonic as you read - so the perfect accompaniment to relaxing in the sun * Independent *
A real gem of a book that is my book of the year so far . . . superbly written and flows effortlessly. You read and re-read phrase after evocative phrase. I couldn't put it down. The characters lingered long after I had finished it and the sense of time and place made me want to book a flight to Paris immediately . . . You will LOVE it * Patricia Scanlan *
A true gem for fiction lovers * Good Housekeeping *
The Little Paris Bookshop is a wonderful tale showing the power of friendship and love * France magazine *
A gentle, heartwarming tale of discovery * Candis *
A novel about love and books - what better? * Woman and Home *
Enchanting and uplifting, this unashamedly sweet tale is a real gem * Heat *
Nina George spins a gentle, charming tale . . . it would take a cold heart not to be warmed * Herald *
Nina George tells us clever things about love, about literature that 'puts a bounce in your step', about tango in Provence. One of those books that gets you thinking about whom you must give it to as a gift even while you're still reading it, because it makes you happy, and should be part of any well-stocked apothecary * Hamburg Morning Post *
Enchanting and moving ... Rarely have I read such a beautiful book! * Tina magazine *
[a] wonderfully eclectic and quirky cast of characters, all of whom are so well defined and written * The Armchair Library blog *
a delightful, bittersweet tale * Lakes Post *
A charming story about life, love, despair and, above all, hope * Who Weekly *

You may also be interested in...

The Girls
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Bridget Jones's Baby
Added to basket
Before the Rains
Added to basket
Greatest Hits
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Listening In
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
City of Friends
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
My Brilliant Friend
Added to basket
Commonwealth
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Sunshine Sisters
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Summer of Impossible Things
Added to basket
Lyrebird
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
This Must be the Place
Added to basket
The Muse
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“A charming novel full of fascinating characters - a joyous read!”

Jean Perdu is the owner of a book barge, the 'Literary Apothecary' on the Seine. Dishing out remedies, in the form of novels, to his customers is his speciality yet beneath it all lies a world of heartbreak.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 122
Whispering Stories

“A beautiful story of love lost.”

The story is truly romantic, we feel Perdu’s love for Manon throughout the book, a love which he still has 21 years after he last saw her. With Nina’s creative writing we are able to sense all of Perdu’s emotions, not... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 118

“Gentle and Relaxing”

This is a wonderful gentle and very relaxing book to read.....
You imagine yourself visiting the barge and enjoying the books and perhaps your own 'prescription'.
You can relax with the visitors on the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 104

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.