The Little Breton Bistro (Paperback)
  • The Little Breton Bistro (Paperback)
zoom

The Little Breton Bistro (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Paperback 304 Pages / Published: 02/03/2017
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

Marianne decided to die. Here and now, down below in the waters of the Seine, late on this grey day. On her trip to Paris.

Marianne Messman, a housewife, wants to escape her loveless marriage and an uncaring and unfeeling husband of 35 years.

Marianne and her husband (army sergeant major Lothar) take a trip to Paris, during which Marianne leaps off the Pont Neuf into the Seine, but she is saved from drowning by a homeless man. Angered by her behaviour, major Lothar takes a coach trip back home to Germany, expecting that a psychologist will escort Marianne home a few days later.

However, Marianne instead comes across a hand-painted scene of the tiny port of Kerdruc in Brittany, and becomes fixated with the place. Deciding to make her way to Kerduc, Marianne finds a host of colourful characters who all gravitate around the small restaurant of Ar Mor (The Sea). It is this cast of true Bretons who become Marianne's new family. Here she finds love and passion with Yann, an artist who becomes her guide to the secrets of Brittany.

But before long, Marianne's husband is back to retrieve her and Marianne feels pulled towards her old life by way of duty and guilt. Is it too late to find the life she really wants?

From the author of the bestselling novel The Little Paris Bookshop comes a novel chances life offers when you think all hope it gone.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349142227
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 356 g
Dimensions: 233 x 152 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
From the author of The Little Paris Bookshop comes a new life-affirming novel . . . the message of this gentle but pacey page-turner is that new loves, new friends and confidence can be found at any stage * Sunday Express *
[Nina] George's engrossing novel is as much about indulging the senses with succulent dishes and dazzling sights as it is about romance and second chances. With a profound sense of place and sensuous prose, the novel functions as a satisfying virtual visit to the French Riviera. A luscious and uplifting tale of personal redemption in the tradition of Eat, Pray, Love * Kirkus Reviews *
A sweet lifesaver bound to be in huge demand * Library Journal *
This charming tale is already a bestseller in Germany. On a beautifully restored barge on the Seine, Jean Perdu runs a bookshop - or as he calls it, 'a literary apothecary', because the owner knows how to use books like medicine. The only person he is unable to cure - of heartache - is himself. For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Amelie * Red on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP *
As . . . the little floating bookshop sets off for Provence, George uses a heady cocktail of literature and more sensual pleasures to create a wonderfully offbeat romance * Mail on Sunday on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP *
Glowing . . . layered with wit, enchanting writing and a love of books . . . I prescribed it for a cynical friend who has '"seen it all" (and read it all) and she swooned * Daily Mail on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP *
A true gem for fiction lovers * Good Housekeeping on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP *
A captivating curiosity, for those who still believe in love and books, friendship and food, happiness and romance * Saga on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP *
A capricious, meandering journey of love, loss and wonderful food, so beautifully described. I enjoyed every moment -- Carole Matthews, bestselling author of The Cake Shop in the Garden, on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP
If you're looking to be charmed right out of your own life for a few hours, sit down with this wise and winsome novel . . . Everything happens just as you want it to . . . from poignant moments to crystalline insights in exactly the right measure * oprah.com on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP *
An enchanting, uplifting read . . . the sort of book that acts as a soothing tonic as you read - so the perfect accompaniment to relaxing in the sun * Independent on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP *
The Little Paris Bookshop is a wonderful tale showing the power of friendship and love * France magazine on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP *
A gentle, heartwarming tale of discover * Candis on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP *
A novel about love and books - what better? * Woman and Home on THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP *

You may also be interested in...

Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Sealwoman's Gift
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Convenience Store Woman
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Paperback
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Surprise Me
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lullaby
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Last Letter Home
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Little Fires Everywhere
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Men Without Women
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Three Things About Elsie
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Killing Commendatore
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Ladder Of Years
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
How Hard Can It Be?
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Force of Nature
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Perfect book to bring a little sunshine into our lives....”

This is the story of Marianne who is unhappily married for 35 years to an uncaring and unfeeling husband. During a trip to romantic Paris, she decides to end her miserable life, jumping off the Pont Neufchâtel in the... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
23rd February 2017
Helpful? Upvote 105

“a story of second chances!”

I fell for the charm of this story. As with, "The Little Paris Bookshop," it had many memorable moments. Elements of the book made me think of wonderful holidays. The story takes the reader on a journey of... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
12th March 2017
Helpful? Upvote 84

“Had to read this..”

Well I just had to read this after being such a big fan of the little Paris bookshop.
At first I wasn't sure if it would live up to the first book, however once the story came into it's own it was beautiful... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
9th June 2017
Helpful? Upvote 27

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.