The Lightning Tree (Paperback)
  • The Lightning Tree (Paperback)
zoom

The Lightning Tree (Paperback)

(author)
£12.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 15/01/2015
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
This is a story of two young people who fall in love - and then life gets in the way. Ursula is part dreamer, part radical in the making. Raised in a matriarchal household by a CND-loving activist, she is impatient to begin a life of adventure. But this is Newcastle in the mid-80s where girls are getting permed and their dreams go no further than copping off down the Bigg Market. Then Ursula meets Jerry, a class warrior from the wrong side of town, intellectually hungry, erudite and ambitious. It is a meeting of bodies, souls, minds and ideals. Keen to pursue the road less travelled, Ursula heads to India while Jerry goes to Oxford and the promise of politics and power. As Ursula searches for answers, she is soon drifting - and Jerry loses touch. What happens to young love when it is tested by real life? The Lightning Tree is a lyrical and funny novel for fans of The Line of Beauty and The Marriage Plot.

Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571254019
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 322 g
Dimensions: 216 x 135 x 25 mm
Edition: Main

You may also be interested in...

Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Virgin Suicides
Added to basket
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
No One Is Talking About This
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mrs England
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
Girl A
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
No Longer Human
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.