The Lies You Told (Hardback)
  • The Lies You Told (Hardback)
zoom

The Lies You Told (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 20/08/2020
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Waterstones Says

Filled with a slow-burning sense of dread and mounting tension, The Lies You Told is a compelling new thriller from the author of Blood Orange.  An addictive blend of family noir and legal cliff hanger, this taut portrayal of a parental nightmare probes the risks we’re willing to take to keep our loved ones safe. 

A standard edition is available here

Has she left her child in the care of a killer?

Sadie has moved back to London so her daughter can attend the exclusive school her domineering father has secured her a place at. It's highly sought-after and highly competitive - just like the other mothers, Sadie soon discovers.

While she's trying to get her daughter settled and navigate the fraught politics of the school gate, Sadie is also trying to reclaim a position in her old legal chambers - she used to practice as a criminal barrister. She's given the junior brief on a scandalous case involving a male teacher and his student. It's an opportunity to prove herself, but will she let a dangerous flirtation cloud her professional judgement? And will her sudden close friendship with another mother prevent her from seeing the truth - and the threat that she's inviting into her home?

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472279491
Number of pages: 384
Dimensions: 240 x 156 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for Harriet Tyce:

'Fans of Apple Tree Yard and The Girl on the Train will love the atmosphere of clenched ambiguity Tyce sustains so well.' - The Guardian

'This thriller breathes new life into the domestic noir genre and grips until the final page' - The Daily Express

Blood Orange is glittering and fierce and resolutely unsentimental, a glorious bonfire of a marriage thriller' - The Irish Times

'Complex and menacing, this is a very impressive debut' - The Observer

You may also be interested in...

Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Maidens
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Bad Actors
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
Over My Dead Body
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
JUDAS 62
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Passenger & Stella Maris: Boxed Set
Added to basket
Magpie
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
With A Mind to Kill
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Stella Maris
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
1979
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Line to Kill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Passenger
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback

“Brilliant!”

My Recommendation

I'd not read a book by Harriet Tyce before this one, I thought it was brilliant.

A really good story, well rounded characters, some of them pretty scary!

Clever twist at the end.

I am... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

“Another bleak domestic noir destined for success”

Another dark, gripping domestic noir if you enjoy a psychological thriller. The book is based around an exclusive primary school and the supremacy of competitive mothers and the deleterious effect of their obsessions... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 12

“Life can be so competitive!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy, I was very keen to get my hands on it after loving Harriet's debut Blood Orange so much.
This doesn't disappoint... life can be competitive even from a... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 11

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.