The Liar's Chair (Hardback)
  • The Liar's Chair (Hardback)
zoom

The Liar's Chair (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 15/01/2015
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

As featured on Loose Women's Loose Books as their November book club pick.

The Liar's Chair is Rebecca Whitney's stunning psychological thriller debut set in Brighton.

Who can she trust
If she can't trust herself?

Rachel Teller and her husband David appear happy, prosperous and fulfilled. The big house, the successful business . . . They have everything.

However, control, not love, fuels their relationship and David has no idea his wife indulges in drunken indiscretions. When Rachel kills a man in a hit and run, the meticulously maintained veneer over their life begins to crack.

Destroying all evidence of the accident, David insists they continue as normal. Rachel though is racked with guilt and as her behaviour becomes increasingly self-destructive she not only inflames David's darker side, but also uncovers her own long-suppressed memories of shame. Can Rachel confront her past and atone for her terrible crime? Not if her husband has anything to do with it . . .

A startling, dark and audacious novel set in and around the Brighton streets, The Liar's Chair will keep readers on the edge of their seats until the final page has been turned. A stunning psychological portrait of a woman in a toxic marriage, Rebecca Whitney's debut will show that sometimes the darkest shadow holds the truth you have been hiding from . . .

'A twist-filled tour of a marriage made in hell' Peter Swanson

*Perfect for fans of Louise Doughty's Apple Tree Yard*

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781447265818
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 448 g
Dimensions: 224 x 143 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
There are echoes of Gillian Flynn's 2012 blockbuster Gone Girl in this compelling debut . . . a fresh example of 'domestic noir', the story focuses on a marriage that is deeply flawed, but this time it is the wife alone at the epicentre . . . taut and heart-rending, it paints an uncomfortable portrait of a woman tearing herself apart over a murder she never intended to commit * Daily Mail *
Those Gone Girl-inspired thrillers are going nowhere. Rebecca Whitney's debut, The Liar's Chair, is about a seemingly perfect relationship that's actually toxic. * Glamour magazine, Entertainment 2015: The Ultimate Edit *
A stylish, Brighton-based psychological thriller that blows open the smokescreen of superficial happiness in a successful young couple. This British noir is the work of Rebecca Whitney, an extremely promising literary newcomer. * Grazia *
This impressive debut will cleverly draw you in, then spit you out shivering and on edge. * The Sun *
Disturbing and realistic. I recommend it to readers who love a good thriller - and a tale of redemption . . . An impressive debut thriller . . . it is sleep-with-the-lights-on chilling . . . Whitney is definitely a name to keep your eye on. * Stylist Book Wars (where it triumphed over S. J. Watson's Second Life) *
A convincing and intelligent psychological thriller by a gasp-inducingly good new writer. * Saga Magazine *
Set in and around Brighton, Rebecca Whitney's debut novel The Liar's Chair is the tale of a toxic marriage. Both compelling and unsettling. -- Laura Wilson * Guardian *
Whitney's The Liar's Chair may, like Gone Girl, have a toxic marriage at its heart, but the story Whitney tells is of a woman who has lost the ability to connect to anything in her life. Adrift from everything, including her emotions, Rachel haunts her own story, wrongfooting the reader throughout. Like many of the new breed of bad girl stories, Rachel's draws its power not so much from her bad behaviour - drugs, drink and casual sex - but from the convincingly claustrophobic details of her home life. Where fictional anti-heroes live their lives in public, making their mistakes at work or walking down Philip Marlowe's mean streets, these anti-heroines operate in a domestic sphere. * Observer *
Rebecca Whitney presents a harrowing psychological thriller with The Liar's Chair . . . a shocking close, unpredictable until almost the final page. Impossible to put down. * Image Magazine *
An unsettling portrayal of a toxic relationship, this pacy debut thriller is pitch dark. * Sunday Mirror *
A toxic marriage, deeply unlikeable characters, and dark secrets - an excellent example of the genre. * Guardian *
The Liar's Chair is riveting, a dark story of desperate people and reckless acts. You won't want to put it down. * Jane Casey, bestselling author of the Maeve Kerrigan series *
From the very first pages, I was genuinely hooked. Rebecca Whitney builds the tension to unbearable heights from the very first scene and doesn't let up until the final page . . . With beautiful language and a thrilling narrative, Whitney skilfully opens the door on this insidious and toxic relationship, and I defy anyone not to read it in one sitting. * Sam Hayes *
Cleverly constructed, chilling and deeply disturbing, The Liar's Chair is a compelling psychological thriller that dissects an outwardly perfect marriage and reveals the dark, decaying heart at its core. A brilliant debut. * Emlyn Rees *
The Liar's Chair is one of those books that you has you racing through it . . . you desperately need to know what happens. Dark and atmospheric, with a fascinatingly complex central character - this is a book that holds nothing back. * Kate Hamer, author of The Girl in the Red Coat *
Rebecca Whitney's debut thriller takes you on a twist-filled tour of a marriage made in hell. With stunningly good writing, Whitney not only provides the thrills, but offers up a wrenching portrait of a fractured heroine. I eagerly await her next book. * Peter Swanson, author of The Girl with the Clock for a Heart and The Kind Worth Killing *
A classic example of a book by a clever writer with the skill to mess with the reader's head . . . Sharply observed and meticulously planned, this novel's creepy thrills and undercurrents of violence stay with you long after you've turned the last page. * Sussex Life *

You may also be interested in...

Thirteen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Wife Between Us
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Chalk Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Column of Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Munich
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Gallery of the Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
End Game
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Rooster Bar
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
NYPD Red 5
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Stranger in the House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Legacy of Spies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Everything Is Lies
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
London Rules
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Fox
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“The Liar's Chair is an excellent debut”

Rachel and David Teller; partners. Partners in a successful business and partners in marriage. How they appear to colleagues and associates is very important, it is important not to let anyone scratch beneath the... More

Hardback edition
2nd April 2015
Helpful? Upvote 11

“The Liar's Chair is an excellent debut.”

Rachel and David Teller; partners. Partners in a successful business and partners in marriage. How they appear to colleagues and associates is very important, it is important not to let anyone scratch beneath the... More

Hardback edition
2nd April 2015
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.