The Lazarus War: Artefact: Lazarus War 1 - The Lazarus War (Paperback)
  • The Lazarus War: Artefact: Lazarus War 1 - The Lazarus War (Paperback)
zoom

The Lazarus War: Artefact: Lazarus War 1 - The Lazarus War (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 464 Pages / Published: 25/02/2016
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Artefact is book one of the Lazarus War, an explosive new space adventure series of elite space marines, thrilling space battles and competing galactic empires - a stunning debut from a bright new star in science fiction.

Mankind has spread to the stars, only to become locked in warfare with an insidious alien race. All that stands against the alien menace are the soldiers of the Simulant Operation Programme, an elite military team remotely operating avatars in the most dangerous theatres of war.

Captain Conrad Harris has died hundreds of times - running suicide missions in simulant bodies. Known as Lazarus, he is a man addicted to death. So when a secret research station deep in alien territory suddenly goes dark, there is no other man who could possibly lead a rescue mission.

But Harris hasn't been trained for what he's about to find. And this time, he may not be coming back...

'Hyper-speed entertainment from a new master of science fiction' William C. Dietz

'An adrenaline shot of rip-roaring military SF' Stephen Deas

'Gripping, gritty and unsentimental - Sawyer shows us how perilous future war can be' Michael Cobley

'Alien biomechs . . . terrorism, subterfuge and traitors . . . starships sporting particle beam weapons, railguns the size of skyscrapers, laser batteries, missiles . . . This, dear readers, is the good stuff' Neal Asher

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356505466
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 198 x 128 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Artefact is a gripping read that moves at warp speed * Jack Campbell, author of THE LOST FLEET novels *
Gripping, gritty and unsentimental - Sawyer shows us how perilous future war can be * Michael Cobley, author of the Humanity's Fire series *
The Lazarus War: Artefact is an outstanding novel . . . fresh and exciting and gripping . . . I eagerly look forward to the next installment. I think I'd follow Conrad "Lazarus" Harris anywhere * FORBIDDEN PLANET INTERNATIONAL *
An entertaining slice of retro sci-fi adventure * SFX *
A hostile race of alien biomechs somewhat in the mould of H R Giger aliens . . . terrorism, subterfuge and traitors . . . starships sporting particle beam weapons, railguns the size of skyscrapers, laser batteries, missiles... And then there are the uber-human super-soldiers clad in powered armour and wielding plasma weapons... Is that enough for you? . . . This, dear readers, is the good stuff. Recommended * Neal Asher, author of the Agent Cormac novels *
A ripping yarn . . . a wholly unique adventure * WEEKEND SPORT *
Hyper-speed entertainment from a new master of science fiction * William C. Dietz, author of the Legion novels and HALO tie-in novels *
A highly promising science fiction debut - a fun, gripping adventure story, with a mystery at its core that kept me turning the pages * Gary Gibson, author of STEALING LIGHT *
Artefact is an adrenaline shot of rip-roaring military SF packed with cinematic action sequences and tightly drawn characters. I look forward returning to the company of hardman Conrad Harris and his motley crew of simulants and soldiers time and again * Stephen Deas, author of THE ADAMANTINE PALACE *
Debut author Sawyer digs into the psychic damage simulant operators like Harris suffer from by dying repeatedly . . . For fans of Robert Heinlein, John Scalzi, and Joe Haldeman * LIBRARY JOURNAL *
One of the absolute best new military science fiction books I've read recently. HIGHLY recommended if you want an action packed SF book you won't put down! * BEST SCIENCE FICTION BOOKS *
Jamie Sawyer is easily one of the best military SF writers working today. His books are a must read for anyone who grew up watching Aliens and reading 2000AD * Gavin Smith, author of THE BASTARD LEGION *
Artefact is a gripping read that moves at warp speed * Jack Campbell, author of THE LOST FLEET novels *
Gripping, gritty and unsentimental - Sawyer shows us how perilous future war can be * Michael Cobley, author of the Humanity's Fire series *
The Lazarus War: Artefact is an outstanding novel . . . fresh and exciting and gripping . . . I eagerly look forward to the next installment. I think I'd follow Conrad "Lazarus" Harris anywhere. * FORBIDDEN PLANET INTERNATIONAL *
An entertaining slice of retro sci-fi adventure * SFX *
A hostile race of alien biomechs somewhat in the mould of H R Giger aliens . . . terrorism, subterfuge and traitors . . . starships sporting particle beam weapons, railguns the size of skyscrapers, laser batteries, missiles... And then there are the uber-human super-soldiers clad in powered armour and wielding plasma weapons... Is that enough for you? . . . This, dear readers, is the good stuff. Recommended. * Neal Asher, author of the Agent Cormac novels *
A ripping yarn . . . a wholly unique adventure * WEEKEND SPORT *
Hyper-speed entertainment from a new master of science fiction * William C. Dietz, author of the Legion novels and HALO tie-in novels *
A highly promising science fiction debut - a fun, gripping adventure story, with a mystery at its core that kept me turning the pages * Gary Gibson, author of STEALING LIGHT *
Artefact is an adrenaline shot of rip-roaring military SF packed with cinematic action sequences and tightly drawn characters. I look forward returning to the company of hardman Conrad Harris and his motley crew of simulants and soldiers time and again * Stephen Deas, author of THE ADAMANTINE PALACE *
Debut author Sawyer digs into the psychic damage simulant operators like Harris suffer from by dying repeatedly . . . For fans of Robert Heinlein, John Scalzi, and Joe Haldeman * LIBRARY JOURNAL *
One of the absolute best new military science fiction books I've read recently. HIGHLY recommended if you want an action packed SF book you won't put down! * BEST SCIENCE FICTION BOOKS *

You may also be interested in...

Elevation
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
Blood of Elves
Added to basket
Frankissstein
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sword of Destiny
Added to basket
The Last
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Taking of Annie Thorne
Added to basket
Wakenhyrst
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
The Starless Sea
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Agency
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Pine
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.