The Lavender House (Paperback)
  • The Lavender House (Paperback)
zoom

The Lavender House (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 09/02/2017
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Emotional, page-turning women's fiction from the author of #1 EBOOK BESTSELLER, THURSDAYS IN THE PARK. Beautiful storytelling for fans of Erica James, Veronica Henry and Harriet Evans. 'Boyd is as canny as Joanna Trollope at observing family life - and better than Trollope at jokes' Daily Mail

Nancy de Freitas is the glue that holds her family together. Caught between her ageing, ailing mother Frances, and her struggling daughter Louise, frequent user of Nancy's babysitting services, it seems Nancy's fate is to quietly go on shouldering the burden of responsibility for all four generations. Her divorce four years ago put paid to any thoughts of a partner to share her later years with. Now it looks like her family is all she has.

Then she meets Jim. Smoker, drinker, unsuccessful country singer and wearer of cowboy boots, he should be completely unsuited to the very together Nancy. And yet, there is a real spark.
But Nancy's family don't trust Jim one bit. They're convinced he'll break her heart, maybe run off with her money - he certainly distracts her from her family responsibilities.

Can she be brave enough to follow her heart? Or will she remain glued to her family's side and walk away from one last chance for love?

Publisher: Quercus Publishing
ISBN: 9781784294144
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Warm-hearted and with a beady eye, Boyd gets under the skin of her characters to show that falling in love isn't limited to the young * Sunday Express *
A warm-hearted story of families, trust and second-chance love * Sunday Mirror *
Hilary Boyd in her inimitable fashion has told the story yet again of mature love which, like an excellent vintage wine, is just waiting to burst out of its barrels * My Weekly *
Boyd is as canny as Joanna Trollope at observing family life - and better than Trollope at jokes * Daily Mail *
A gentle but emotionally charged drama * Sunday Mirror *
I found myself instantly gripped . . . a romance in the Joanna Trollope vein * The Times *
Thoroughly enjoyable read . . . a real page turner * Good Housekeeping *
This story is engrossing . . . one of my favourite books of the year so far * Mature Times *
Poignant, well-observed and wonderfully written, this is a bit of a heartstring-puller * Closer *

You may also be interested in...

Born In Ice
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
After Ever Happy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Perfect Match
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Whiskey Beach
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
After We Collided
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
This Man
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
After
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Bane Chronicles
Added to basket
Possession
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Bridges Of Madison County
Added to basket
Giovanni's Room
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Born In Shame
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.