The Last Witch of Scotland: A bewitching story based on true events (Paperback)
  • The Last Witch of Scotland: A bewitching story based on true events (Paperback)
zoom

The Last Witch of Scotland: A bewitching story based on true events (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 352 Pages
Published: 29/02/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Being a woman was her only crime.

Scottish Highlands, 1727.

In the aftermath of a tragic fire that kills her father, Aila and her mother, Janet, move to the remote parish of Loth, north-west of Inverness. Blending in does not come easily to the women: Aila was badly burned in the fire and left with visible injuries, while her mother struggles to maintain her grip on reality. When a temporary minister is appointed in the area, rather than welcome the two women, he develops a strange curiosity for them that sets them even further apart from the community.

Then arrives a motley troupe of travelling entertainers from Edinburgh, led by the charismatic but mysterious Jack. It is just the distraction Janet, and particularly Aila, needs: for the first time in a long while, their lives are filling with joy and friendship, and a kind of hope Aila hasn't known since her father's death. But in this small community, faith is more powerful than truth, and whispers more dangerous even than fire.

Haunting and deeply moving, The Last Witch of Scotland is a story of love, loyalty and sacrifice, inspired by the true story of the last person to be executed for witchcraft in Britain.

Perfect for fans of Outlander, The Mercies and The Witches of Vardo, or for anyone with an interest in the history of witchcraft, late renaissance Scotland and Highland history.

Publisher: Bonnier Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781785305245
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 245 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 21 mm

You may also be interested in...

Atonement
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Fatherland
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
Restoration
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Captain Corelli's Mandolin
Added to basket
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
An Instance of the Fingerpost
Added to basket
Tai-Pan
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Spring Snow
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Enigma
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket

“An engaging fictional account of the last woman to be brought to trail for witchcraft in Scotland”

A fictional account of the last woman to be accused of the 'crime' of witchcraft in Scotland. Janet and her daughter are forthright and intelligent in a time where it was dangerous to be so , they are soon... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“highly recommended and beautifully written”

Loved it! This author is a true storyteller. They have taken a true historical event and woven an engrossing and interesting tale around it. The witchcraft part of the novel only really takes off at about 70% so... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“Atmospheric novel set in a dark period of history”

This story is told mainly from Aila’s perspective but occasionally we get POVs from other characters like Jack. I was pulled in right away and I didn’t want to put it down for the most part! The pacing was good, it... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: