The Last Romantics [Large Print] (Paperback)
  • The Last Romantics [Large Print] (Paperback)
zoom

The Last Romantics [Large Print] (Paperback)

(author)
£19.99
Paperback 512 Pages / Published: 16/03/2019
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

The New York Times bestselling author of The House Girl explores the lives of four siblings in this ambitious and absorbing novel in the vein of Commonwealth and The Interestings.

"The greatest works of poetry, what makes each of us a poet, are the stories we tell about ourselves. We create them out of family and blood and friends and love and hate and what we've read and watched and witnessed. Longing and regret, illness, broken bones, broken hearts, achievements, money won and lost, palm readings and visions. We tell these stories until we believe them."

When the renowned poet Fiona Skinner is asked about the inspiration behind her iconic work, The Love Poem, she tells her audience a story about her family and a betrayal that reverberates through time.

It begins in a big yellow house with a funeral, an iron poker, and a brief variation forever known as the Pause: a free and feral summer in a middle-class Connecticut town. Caught between the predictable life they once led and an uncertain future that stretches before them, the Skinner siblings-fierce Renee, sensitive Caroline, golden boy Joe and watchful Fiona-emerge from the Pause staunchly loyal and deeply connected. Two decades later, the siblings find themselves once again confronted with a family crisis that tests the strength of these bonds and forces them to question the life choices they've made and ask what, exactly, they will do for love.

A sweeping yet intimate epic about one American family, The Last Romantics is an unforgettable exploration of the ties that bind us together, the responsibilities we embrace and the duties we resent, and how we can lose-and sometimes rescue-the ones we love. A novel that pierces the heart and lingers in the mind, it is also a beautiful meditation on the power of stories-how they navigate us through difficult times, help us understand the past, and point the way toward our future.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062887542
Number of pages: 512
Edition: Large type / large print edition

You may also be interested in...

The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Promise
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
Mayflies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.