The Last Orphan - An Orphan X Novel (Hardback)
  • The Last Orphan - An Orphan X Novel (Hardback)
zoom

The Last Orphan - An Orphan X Novel (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 352 Pages
Published: 16/02/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Another rollercoaster ride of a thriller in the Orphan X series, Hurwitz's action-packed novel sees the President make Evan Smoak a deadly ultimatum - assassinate a rich and powerful man or be handed over to the forces who want Evan dead.

The world needs a new hero, and Evan Smoak - aka Orphan X - is here to help in this electrifying new adventure perfect for fans of Lee Child's Jack Reacher series. As a child, Evan Smoak was plucked out of a group home, raised and trained as an off-the-books assassin for the government as part of the Orphan program.

When he broke with the program and went deep underground, he left with a lot of secrets in his head that the government would do anything to make sure never got out.

When he remade himself as The Nowhere Man, dedicated to helping the most desperate in their times of trouble, Evan found himself slowly back on the government's radar. Having eliminated most of the Orphans in the program, the government will stop at nothing to eliminate the threat they see in Evan. But Orphan X has always been several steps ahead of his pursuers. Until he makes one little mistake.

Now the President has him in her control and offers Evan a deal - eliminate a rich, powerful man she says is too dangerous to live and, in turn, she'll let Evan survive. But when Evan left the Program he swore to only use his skills against those who really deserve it. Now he has to decide what's more important - his principles or his life.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241402900
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 554 g
Dimensions: 242 x 161 x 34 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

wham-bam action and suspense, leavened with humour - Sunday Express

Praise for The Last Orphan- - :

The Last Orphan is pulse-pounding, heart-stopping, and thought-provoking. I loved it - Meg Gardiner, No. 1 New York Times bestselling author

The Last Orphan is a top-notch thriller and action packed joyride. Readers will not want to put it down - Karin Slaughter, New York Times bestselling author

As a crafter of wham-bam action and suspense, leavened with a healthy dose of humour, Hurwitz's abilities are as fine-tuned as ever - Daily Express

[A] witty, satisfying thriller - Sun

Hurwitz gives his seventh Orphan X thriller an epic scope, writing with verve and color . . . A crackerjack thriller - Kirkus

Nonstop action and relentless pacing are matched in The Last Orphan by deeply philosophical and powerfully emotional undertones - Publishers Weekly

A stellar series, and the stories get better with each instalment. [Evan Smoak is] the man you want in your corner when justice is needed - Daily Mail

Orphan X blows the doors off most thrillers I've read and catapults the readers on a cat-and-mouse that feels like a missile launch. Read this book. You will thank me later - David Baldacci, -

Orphan X is his best yet - a real celebration of all the strengths Gregg Hurwitz brings to a thriller - Lee Child, -

Another jet-fuelled thriller - Shots Magazine

Orphan X is most exciting new series character since Jack Reacher. A page-turning masterpiece of suspense - Jonathan Kellerman, -

Mind blowing! A perfect mix of Jason Bourne and Jack Reacher - Lisa Gardner, -

Orphan X is not good. Orphan X is great. Whatever you like best in a thriller - action, plot, character, suspense - Orphan X has it - Simon Toyne

A new series character to rival Reacher . . . anyone reading Orphan X won't be surprised that a cadre of peers, from Tess Gerritsen to Lee Child, have lined up to praise it - Independent

Bestseller Hurwitz melds non-stop action and high-tech gadgetry with an acute character study in this excellent series opener . . . Evan Smoak is an electrifying character - Publishers Weekly

In terms of plot, characters, suspense and innovation, Orphan X is outstanding . . . I've always thought that one reason for Tom Clancy's success was the endless detail he provided about military hardware, and that the James Bond novels benefited from the loving attention Ian Fleming devoted to the martinis, expensive cars and gorgeous women he so admired. Hurwitz outdoes both writers . . . Orphan X is a smart, stylish, state-of-the-art thriller. It's also the start of a series, one that might give Lee Child's Jack Reacher books a run for their money - Washington Post

A masterpiece of suspense and thrills . . . Turn off the real world and dive into this amazing start to a new series - Associated Press

Don't miss this one - Booklist

You may also be interested in...

Traitor
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Clive Cussler's Fire Strike
Added to basket
Invasion
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
The Spy Who Came in from the Cold
Added to basket
Fatherland
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Casino Royale
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
London Rules
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Golden Library
Added to basket
On His Majesty's Secret Service
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Exile
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Moscow X
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Shanghai
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Moscow X
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
The Partisan
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Damascus Station
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“Hugely entertaining action drama.”

The Last Orphan is the eighth book in the Orphan X series by best-selling American author, Gregg Hurwitz. Two months after his neighbour and sometime lover, Mia Hall is left in a coma, Evan Smoak is on a glacier in... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“The Last Orphan by Gregg Hurwitz”

I have an unwritten rule about books in a series. I don’t think I’m the only one. My rule, which I’ve learnt the hard way, is ‘don’t read books in a series out of order and ALWAYS start with the first book, not the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: