The Last Mile - Amos Decker series (Paperback)
  • The Last Mile - Amos Decker series (Paperback)
zoom

The Last Mile - Amos Decker series (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 624 Pages / Published: 03/11/2016
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A gripping thriller from David Baldacci, The Last Mile is perfect for fans of Lee Child and James Patterson.

Memories can be a real killer.

Melvin Mars awaits his fate on Death Row. He was one of America's most promising football stars until, aged twenty, he was arrested and convicted for the murder of his parents just as he was due to begin a very lucrative contract with the NFL.

When Amos Decker, newly appointed special agent with the FBI, hears the news that Melvin was saved in the final seconds before his execution because someone has confessed to the killings, he persuades his boss to allow him to carry out an investigation into the Mars murders.

There are facts about the case which don't add up, and as the investigation deepens, Decker and his team uncover layer upon layer of lies and deception which are rooted at a time in American history which most would rather forget, but some seem keen to remember.

There is someone out there with a lot to hide, and a secret that everyone is looking for. A race against time ensues because, when revealed, that information threatens to tear apart the corridors of power at the very highest level.

The case proves to be life-changing for both Mars and Decker in ways that neither could ever have imagined.

The Last Mile is the second in the Amos Decker series, following Memory Man.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781447277538
Number of pages: 624
Weight: 437 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 38 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
David Baldacci's The Last Mile is a second outing for Amos Decker, the Holmesian hero of last year's Memory Man . . . A typically twisty plot never flags, and benefits from having the likeably offbeat sleuth (whose gifts include synaesthesia and photographic memory) as its pivot * The Sunday Times *
Already among the world's bestselling writers, Baldacci hardly needs to prove himself but he's created one of the most intriguing, complex anti-heroes....Impossible to put down, especially because of Decker, who weaves a powerful spell * Daily Mail *
A clever thriller in the Jeffrey Deaver mould * The Sun *
It's big, bold and almost impossible to put down . . . Decker is one of the most unusual detectives any novelist has dreamed up . . . I called this novel a master class on the bestseller because of its fast-moving narrative, the originality of its hero and its irresistible plot . . . Highly entertaining * Washington Post *
David Baldacci has written another thriller that will have readers engaged from the first page . . . Baldacci is a master storyteller . . . Memory Man works because Amos Decker is an amazing character. Reading how Decker journeys from hitting rock bottom to finding ultimate redemption is nothing short of rewarding * Associated Press *
Perennial bestseller Baldacci unveils an offbeat hero with an unusual skill set and tragic past who takes on the evil mastermind behind a devastating school shooting . . . [Decker] proves a quirky, original antihero with a definite method to his madness . . . Readers will want to see Decker back on the printed page again and again * Kirkus Reviews *
[A] strong first in a new thriller series from bestseller Baldacci . . . Baldacci supplies a multitude of clever touches as his wounded bear of a detective takes on a most ingenious enemy * Publishers Weekly *
Baldacci weaves a suspenseful story right up to the climactic face-off between these complex and compelling characters. Highly recommended for all thriller fans who love elusive, taunting criminals and the slightly bent but always determined detectives who pursue them * Library Journal (Starred Review) *
Baldacci makes it feel fresh * Booklist *
Baldacci's novels always have an emotional component . . . But Memory Man stands out among his thrillers for its deeply felt - and earned - sense of catharsis and healing . . . Baldacci's last few books have been among his best, and it's a pleasure to see him produce emotionally and dramatically intense work at the height of his maturity as a novelist * Richmond Times-Dispatch *
One of the world's biggest-selling thriller writers, Baldacci needs no introduction . . . Brilliant plotting, heart-grabbing action and characters to die for * Daily Mail *
The page-turner of the season * The Times *
Baldacci inhabits the skin of his creations - tripping us up with unexpected empathy and subtle identification * Sunday Express *

You may also be interested in...

How the Dead Speak
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd
Added to basket
The Silent Wife
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Benefit of Hindsight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Postscript Murders
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Little Disasters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
Camino Winds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Lantern Men
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last Protector
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
What Abigail Did That Summer
Added to basket
Turn a Blind Eye
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback

“the last mile”

As with all David Baldacci 's books meticulously planned to keep you guessing right to the end an excellent read

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 65

“Clear your diary before you pick this one up”

Well, my mum passed me this saying that she could not put it down and damn it if she wasn't spot on with that description. This is a gripping and complex read that pulls you in from the opening chapters and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.