• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The Last Hours: A sweeping, utterly gripping historical novel for fans of Kate Mosse and Julian Fellowes (Paperback)
  • The Last Hours: A sweeping, utterly gripping historical novel for fans of Kate Mosse and Julian Fellowes (Paperback)
zoom

The Last Hours: A sweeping, utterly gripping historical novel for fans of Kate Mosse and Julian Fellowes (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 576 Pages / Published: 07/06/2018
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket
England, 1348: as the Black Death spreads through the country, people start to die by the thousands. In Dorset, young Lady Anne takes control of her lands, with her trusted steward, Thaddeus, at her side. Compassionate and resourceful, she decides to quarantine the estate against the terrifying pestilence, bringing some two hundred serfs inside the moated walls. But in such a confined space, conflicts soon arise. Ignorant of the world outside, Lady Anne's people wrestle with the terrible uncertainty of their futures. Fearing starvation but fearing the disease even more, who amongst them has the courage to leave the security of the walls? And how safe is anyone when a dreadful event threatens the uneasy status quo...?

Publisher: Allen & Unwin
ISBN: 9781760632144
Number of pages: 576
Weight: 395 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 34 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
Atmosphere, imagination and narrative power of which few other writers are capable * The Times *
A staggeringly talented writer. * Guardian *
Wonderful and sweeping, with a fabulous sense of place and history * Kate Mosse on The Last Hours *
An enthralling account of a calamitous time, and above all a wonderful testimony to the strength of the human spirit. I was caught from the first page. * Julian Fellowes on The Last Hours *
Minette Walters is a master at building engrossing tales around a single, life-shattering event. * Washington Post *
A vividly-wrought and powerful story. With The Last Hours, Minette Walters has brought her impressive skill as a writer of psychological crime to create a dark and gripping depiction of Medieval England in the jaws of the Black Death. * Elizabeth Fremantle on The Last Hours *
A seductive writer with an imagination that makes her dangerous to know * Sunday Express *
Historical novels depend upon the writer's ability to create a credible past world and Walters manages this very well...This is an ideal read for those who just want a good story well told. Snuggle up in a chair on a cold winter night and enjoy. * nudge-book.com *

You may also be interested in...

Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket
Harlequin
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The White Princess
Added to basket
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Edge of Eternity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“A breathtaking journey of the human spirit and its survival”

The arrival of the Black Death pits the selfish expectations and blinkered resistance of some, against those who have opened their eyes and hearts to work with each other, lessoning the ordeals they face by taking... More

Hardback edition
1st November 2017
Helpful? Upvote 30

“Medieval drama”

I was really drawn into this enjoyable historical novel which painted an imaginative and thoroughly-researched picture of life in medieval England. It was a brutal and frightening world with a strict hierarchy imposed... More

Hardback edition
24th October 2017
Helpful? Upvote 30

“A change in style”

I was sent a copy of The Last Hours by Minette Walters to read and review by NetGalley.
This is a very different book from Minette Walters compared to her ‘classics’ The Ice House and The Sculptress. This novel is set... More

Hardback edition
30th October 2017
Helpful? Upvote 24

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.