Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
The Last Hour (Paperback)
  • The Last Hour (Paperback)
zoom

The Last Hour (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 15/11/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
'A ripping story...this transplanting of 24 to Ancient Rome is a great success' Telegraph For readers of Bernard Cornwell, Ben Kane, Simon Scarrow and Conn Iggulden, this is a thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat. A lone figure stands silhouetted atop the Mausoleum of Hadrian. Behind him, the sun is setting over the centre of the known world. Far below, the river is in full flood. The City of Rome lies spread out before him on the far bank. Footsteps pound up the stairs. He's been set up. An enemy is closing in; he is cornered. He jumps. Bruised and battered, he crawls out of the raging river. He is alone and unarmed, without money or friends, trapped in a deadly conspiracy at the heart of the Empire. The City Watch has orders to take him alive; other, more sinister, forces want him dead. As the day dies, he realises he has only 24 hours to expose the conspirators, and save the leader of the world. If the Emperor dies, chaos and violence will ensue. If the Emperor dies, every single person he loves will die. He must run, bluff, hide and fight his way across the Seven Hills. He must reach the Colosseum, and the Emperor. He must make it to The Last Hour. Praise for The Last Hour: 'Relentless, brutal, brilliant, this is Jack Reacher in ancient Rome' Ben Kane 'A cracking tale. More twists and turns than the Tiber itself' Rory Clements 'Cracking, page-turning stuff' James Swallow 'Grabbed me from the start. I loved it' Donna Leon Praise for Harry Sidebottom: 'Makes you feel as though you are there' Bettany Hughes, The Times 'Harry Sidebottom's epic tale starts with a chilling assassination and goes on, and up, from there' Mary Beard 'An amazing story of bloodlust, ruthless ambition and revenge' Kate Saunders, The Times 'An extraordinarily vivid take on the ancient world. Think of The Killing crossed with Andy McNab crossed with Mary Beard, and you're there' David Sexton, Evening Standard 'Ancient Rome has long been a favourite -destination for writers of historical military fiction. Much the best of them is Harry -Sidebottom' Sunday Times 'Swashbuckling as well as bloody, yet curiously plausible ... a real gift for summoning up a sense of place' Times Literary Supplement 'The best sort of red-blooded historical fiction - solidly based on a profound understanding of what it meant to be alive in a particular time and place' Andrew Taylor 'Absorbing, rich in detail and brilliant' The Times

Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
ISBN: 9781785764257
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 369 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The best sort of red-blooded historical fiction - solidly based on a profound understanding of what it meant to be alive in a particular time and place. -- Andrew Taylor
An exceptionally gifted story-teller drawing on prodigious learning. -- Tim Severin
Absorbing, rich in detail and brilliant. * The Times *
Swashbuckling as well as bloody, yet curiously plausible ... a real gift for summoning up a sense of place. * Times Literary Supplement *
Ancient Rome has long been a favourite -destination for writers of historical military -fiction. Much the best of them is Harry -Sidebottom. * Sunday Times *
An extraordinarily vivid take on the ancient world. Think of The Killing crossed with Andy McNab crossed with Mary Beard, and you're there. -- David Sexton * Evening Standard *
An amazing story of bloodlust, ruthless ambition and revenge. -- Kate Saunders * The Times *

You may also be interested in...

The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye
Added to basket
A Legacy of Spies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Little Drummer Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Elevation
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Munich
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Temptation of Forgiveness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Reckoning
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Rooster Bar
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dead If You Don't
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Column of Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Everyday Life in Ancient Rome”

While it is not made clear on the blurb, I don’t think it will do the novel any harm if fans understand that this is a Ballista novel.
So what do we have? Ballista is back in Rome and discovers a plot against the... More

Hardback edition
19th February 2018
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Struggled with this book ”

Firstly the cover is beautiful, eye catching and intriguing, from the blurb I was excited to read this, it sounded full of excitement and twists yet I’m sorry to be writing this but I just really didn’t enjoy this! It... More

Hardback edition
18th March 2018
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A stunning read.”


Set in Ancient Rome we are taken on a journey with Ballista, a credible and lovable character, through the streets of Rome meeting people from all countries, and of all ranks in their society. The storyline is... More

Hardback edition
28th March 2018
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.