The Last Days: A memoir of faith, desire and freedom (Hardback)
  • The Last Days: A memoir of faith, desire and freedom (Hardback)
zoom

The Last Days: A memoir of faith, desire and freedom (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 400 Pages
Published: 14/07/2022
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Powerful, eye-opening and perfect for fans of Tara Westover’s Educated, Ali Millar’s memoir is an unforgettable account of growing up in a community of Jehovah’s Witnesses in the Scottish Borders and her subsequent journey to freedom.

It is 1982 and in the Kingdom Hall we are Jehovah's Witnesses. The state of the world shows us the end is close, and Satan is like a roaring lion, seeking to devour us.

Ali Millar is waiting for Armageddon. Born into the Jehovah's Witnesses in a town in the Scottish Borders, her childhood revolves around regular meetings in the Kingdom Hall, where she is haunted by vivid images of the Second Coming, her mind populated by the bodies that will litter the earth upon Jehovah's return.

In this frightening, cloistered world Ali grows older. As she does, she starts to question the ways of the Witnesses, and their control over the most intimate aspects of her life. As she marries and has a daughter within the religion, she finds herself pulled deeper and deeper into its dark undertow, her mind tormented by one question: is it possible to escape the life you are born into?

A tale of love and darkness, of faith and absolution, The Last Days is an unforgettable memoir of one woman's courageous journey to freedom.

Publisher: Ebury Publishing
ISBN: 9781529109528
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 514 g
Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A coming-of-age story like no other, The Last Days is about finding voice through desire, authentic connection and creative expression. It sings with the strength and bravery it takes to step away from what has defined you, particularly when those you love follow a different truth. A searingly honest memoir. - Lily Dunn

I loved this book. It's a thing of beauty. Ali Millar pulls you heart first through an extraordinary life, somehow making sense of an experience that should make no sense at all. A sublime talent. - David Whitehouse

I so admired this powerful memoir about Millar's courageous journey to free herself from the ties that bound her. A must for anyone who loved Tara Westover's Educated. - Caroline Sanderson, The Bookseller

A beautifully written memoir about how we hide our true selves to fit in. I could not stop turning the pages. Millar's story will resonate with anyone who has felt lost without a voice. Loved it. - Jodie Chapman, author of Another Life

Poetically unpeels the layers of fear and shame built into the psyche of children who are raised as Witnesses. - The Telegraph

This is a dam-burst of a book... so gracious and deft, so carefully weighted, so tender yet flinty, so cinematic and earthed - Caught By the River

A powerful story... consistently gripping - Books From Scotland

You may also be interested in...

The Farmer's Wife
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Surviving to Drive
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Twat Files
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Making of the Modern Middle East
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
My Name is Barbra
Added to basket
£35.00   £27.99
Hardback
brother. do. you. love. me.
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Strong Female Character
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Politics On the Edge
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
Shakespeare
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Landlines
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
I Want to Die but I Want to Eat Tteokbokki
Added to basket
And Away...
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Twat Files
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Everything I Know About Love
Added to basket
Keira & Me
Added to basket
£18.99   £13.99
Hardback
Abroad in Japan
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback

“Coming of age as a Jehovah’s Witness”

Insight into the workings of the Jehovah’s Witness organisation. Rather distressing portray of the treatment of the author during her childhood and early life. Controversial, sad biography, certainly informative,

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

“A Dangerous Truth”

“Writing feels like a portal to a dangerous truth.”

Faith, desire, control, abuse of power… I devoured The Last Days, an incisive takedown of an exploitative, destructive organisation via a personal story.

Millar’s... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

“An astonishing and powerful debut”

The Last Days is an astonishing book. The beauty and honesty with which Ali Millar writes make this a singular reading experience. I was gripped from the very first page, the pacing pulling me through as she... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: