Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours
Last Christmas Delivery Dates
Free UK Standard Delivery on orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 18th December 2nd Class | 19th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours of your order*
The Last Days of Jack Sparks: The most chilling and unpredictable thriller of the year (Paperback)
  • The Last Days of Jack Sparks: The most chilling and unpredictable thriller of the year (Paperback)
zoom

The Last Days of Jack Sparks: The most chilling and unpredictable thriller of the year (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 28/07/2016
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

***THE TOP TEN EBOOK BESTSELLER***

'Magnificent' Alan Moore
'I couldn't put the book down' Ron Howard
'Chilling and utterly immersive' M. R. Carey

It was no secret that journalist Jack Sparks had been researching the occult for his new book. No stranger to controversy, he'd already triggered a furious Twitter storm by mocking an exorcism he witnessed.

Then there was that video: forty seconds of chilling footage that Jack repeatedly claimed was not of his making, yet was posted from his own YouTube account.

Nobody knew what happened to Jack in the days that followed - until now.


'Fascinating, hilarious, disturbing, exciting and surprising as hell' Ron Howard, director of Apollo 13, A Beautiful Mind and The Da Vinci Code

'Brilliantly paced, utterly compelling, I didn't have *a clue* what would happen' Toby Whithouse

'Super spooky and addictively written' Heat

'We fell hard for Jason Arnopp's whip-smart and impulsive thriller . . . meet your new favourite book' iBooks Store

'Wittier than the lovechild of Stephen Fry and Charlie Brooker, scarier than watching The Exorcist in an abandoned asylum' Sarah Lotz, author of The Three

'This is The Omen for the social media age' Chris Brookmyre

'Ingenious and funny . . . A magnificent millennial nightmare' Alan Moore


DISCOVER THIS YEAR'S MOST TALKED-ABOUT THRILLER - perfect for fans of Stephen King, Irvine Welsh and Chuck Palahniuk.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780356506852
Number of pages: 432
Dimensions: 199 x 162 x 29 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Fascinating, hilarious, disturbing, exciting and surprising as hell. I couldn't put the book down * Ron Howard, director of APOLLO 13, A BEAUTIFUL MIND and THE DA VINCI CODE *
Ingenious and funny . . . A magnificent millennial nightmare * Alan Moore *
Wow. Seriously hard to put down . . . Chilling and utterly immersive * M. R. Carey, author of THE GIRL WITH ALL THE GIFTS *
This is The Omen for the social media age * Chris Brookmyre, author of the Jack Parlabane thrillers *
Wittier than the lovechild of Stephen Fry and Charlie Brooker; scarier than watching The Exorcist in an abandoned asylum. Fast, furious, original and most importantly, terrifying * Sarah Lotz, author of THE THREE *
We fell hard for Jason Arnopp's whip-smart and impulsive thriller . . . meet your new favourite book * iBooks Store *
Super spooky and addictively written * HEAT *
An absolutely great read. It scared the bejeezus out of me! * David Schneider, comedian, director and actor in I'M ALAN PARTRIDGE and THE DAY TODAY *
Cracking fun and genuinely creepy * Rick O'Shea, radio presenter *
Tremendous . . . a cracking read * Andy Nyman, co-creator of GHOST STORIES and Derren Brown's award-winning shows *
If you enjoy smart supernatural thrillers then read this book . . . I smashed through it in a couple of days * Daniel P. Carter, Radio 1 DJ *
This is one of those books where I'm sad when I'm not reading it. It manages the rare feat of being both horrific and hilarious, which makes me insanely jealous of Arnopp and has me considering how to kill him and consume his mighty power * Chuck Wendig, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author *
I always suspected Jason Arnopp was a genius, and now, having read his first novel, I know I was right. Jack Sparks is an extraordinary literary creation, clever and awful, loveable and cruel and his story is so terrifying and believable that I could barely bring myself to turn off my lights at bedtime * Lisa Jewell, International bestselling author *
[A] shriekingly good paranormal thriller . . . Superb pacing, tightrope-taut suspense building and tight plotting * SUN *
Quite brilliant. An assured, ultra-modern occult story with real depth of character, a compelling and satisfyingly twisted narrative and a streak of genuine malevolence * Andrew O'Neill, comedian, presenter and musician *
The Last Days of Jack Sparks is whip-smart and perhaps, the greatest indictment of social media or endorsement of it . . . It is that kind of wonderful book that plays with your perception and is the very last word in gonzo journalism. If Hunter S. Thompson decided to write a novel channelling Aleister Crowley and with the wit of Augustus Burroughs, you would have the essence of this terrific novel * Ken Bruen, author of the Jack Taylor crime series *
Funny, creepy, and totally nuts. I had a blast reading it * Paul Tremblay, author of HEAD FULL OF GHOSTS *
It grabbed me relentlessly and made me reprioritize sleep . . . The conclusion is shocking, heartbreaking and absolutely fabulous. I really just loved this one. * THE SPECULATIVE HERALD *
Brilliantly unnerving. I couldn't put it down * Tiernan Douieb, comedian *
Arnopp's snappy prose and bizarre plot carry the day. An uneasy suspense shrouds the pages like a murky London fog. Devour it in one sitting * THE AUSTRALIAN WAY *
As funny as it is frightening * Paul Finch, SHORTLIST *
Original, clever, scary and funny...It kept me gripped and guessing from page one * Rebecca Levene, author of The Hollow Gods series *
A breath of fresh air, vivid and essential * John Higgs, author of STRANGER THAN WE CAN IMAGINE *

You may also be interested in...

The Book of Hidden Things
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
The Testaments
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Rotherweird
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Toymakers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Book of Life
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
The Outsider
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Elevation
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Haunting of Hill House
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Very Murderous Christmas
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“An excellent modern horror classic”

Up and coming horror novelist Jason Arnopp turns on the chills here with this highly original horror novel for the modern age, full of ingenious twists and surprises, humour and thrills which suggest this young man... More

Paperback edition
24th August 2016
Helpful? Upvote 42

“I want another Jack Sparks book”

As they say one isn't enough. If you are looking for gore horror this isn't for you. If you are looking for an intelligent horror with great character, humour, twists and turns that makes you put off jobs so... More

Paperback edition
24th August 2016
Helpful? Upvote 39

“fantastically original horror/thriller”

I loved the concept behind this and the sense of build throughout the book. I'd forgotten how much I loved supernatural horror but this book made me fall in love with the genre all over again. Witty, smart, great... More

Paperback edition
24th August 2016
Helpful? Upvote 38

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.